I’m dreaming of a White Christmas…

White Christmas

…and making this delicious treat is about as close as I’m going to get to having one whilst I live in Australia.  For me born and bred here in the southern hemisphere there is still something about christmas that feels more real when I experience it in a cold winter over a blustery scorching summer day.  It must be the movies and stories over the years from all over the northern world that have convinced me that it should be this way.

I do wonder though if it has something to do with my love of cultural traditions that has sparked this sense.  As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, we spent many years as kids celebrating Swedish Lucia and in the dark of an evening, sometimes with a fire blazing on a cold Melbourne night, the parents drinking mulled wine, and all of us eating gingerbread and Lucia buns, we could almost imagine that it might snow outside if we wished for it enough.   Many years have passed since then, but I can still dream… and in the meanwhile make this scrumptious treat!

So simple and easy to make with no baking required.  Make sure that you zest your orange over the mixture to maximise the orange zestiness and be prepared for the fact that you might not be able to stop at one bite.

This recipe was inspired and adapted from Please Pass The Recipe’s Grown Up White Christmas.

Happy Holidays and Happy Baking,

Leah xxx

Click here for the recipe: White Christmas

White ChristmasWhite ChristmasWhite ChristmasWhite ChristmasWhite ChristmasWhite ChristmasWhite ChristmasWhite ChristmasWhite ChristmasWhite Christmas

6 Comments Add yours

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, it’s actually quite addictive 🙂

      Like

  1. bitsofnice says:

    I had to search online what rice bubbles were as I had no idea that’s what Rice Krispies are called down under! Sounds super tasty and I think hubby would love it as he adores white chocolate! X

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Lol, didn’t even think about them being called something different 🙂 this is so easy to make and really is very tasty x

      Like

  2. nancy@jamjnr says:

    Oh yum. Unfortunately my UK relies are here and they are all activated nuts and no sugar people so I would have to make this and stash it at the back of the fridge away from view….saving it for a rainy day.

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

