Hasselback Potatoes

Hasselback Potatoes

I’m not quite sure why the potato got lumped with a title like humble.   It is such a wonderful vegetable that is so versatile and it is rare that you meet someone who would not want to eat one.

For us, potato is king, we love it anyway that we can get it, but in particular this way of preparing them is one of our favourites.    So for dinner recently when I had my parents over for a roast I thought rather than asking my other half to work his magic in the potato department I would try my own version (read Tessa Kiros’) of Hasselback potatoes.

The result?  A smashing success!  We loved the crisp exterior that still allowed for a creamy base.  We decided that we don’t think we need the butter next time and for the number of potatoes the recipe asks for far too much oil, but other than that it was an absolute winner.   This method does require a little more care than your average roast potato so it may not be something you would whip up every night, but if you were looking to impress your date, your family or just treat yourself then I think exercising your knife skills is well worth it.

As for Kiros’ recipe, they are clear and easy to understand although I did get a little bogged down in her description of how to create the slices in the potato and then realised I just needed to follow my gut instinct.  For me this recipe was more of an act of inspiration rather than something that you would need to follow a recipe for.

This recipe is part of my January contribution to The Cookbook Guru, make sure you check out the details here of how you can join in the fun as we explore cookbooks from around the world, focusing on one each month together.

Hasselback Potatoes

*inspired by Falling Cloudberries by Tessa Kiros

  • 6-8 large waxy potatoes (I used Kestral)
  • approx 3 tbl sp olive oil
  • 70g butter
  • Sea Salt and Cracked Black Pepper to season
  • Fresh Lemon Thyme (or fresh Sage)

Pre-heat your oven to 200c.

Peel your potatoes and cut into half splitting them so that you have two pieces that are taller rather than wider.

9With a sharp knife carefully slice into the potato about 2/3 of the depth to the bottom and about 4-5mm in width along the potato.  Repeat and carefully place all halves onto a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper.

Hasselback Potatoes

Drizzle the oil over the potatoes and season well with salt and pepper.  Place dots of butter on each piece and sprinkle the fresh herbs over the tray.   Place the potatoes in a rack towards the top of the oven.

Roast for approx 1 hour, basting the potatoes with the oil and butter that will have pooled on the tray approx every 15-20 minutes.  Your potatoes will be ready when they are golden brown.

Hasselback Potatoes

Serve immediately whilst hot.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Leah says:

    Reblogged this on The Cook Book Guru and commented:

    Today Sharing The Food We Love has given us another way to roast your potatoes and turn up the deliciousness!

    Like

  2. ladyredspecs says:

    These were seriously good spuds! Love the photo of the finished dish! Xxx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, I was pretty happy with how they turned out 🙂

      Like

  3. Ani says:

    I have seen these with sweet potatoes too. Love that there is more surface area for those crispy edges!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      oh yum, I’ll have to try it with sweet potato, I love them as chips. Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

      Like

  4. bitsofnice says:

    I’ve been meaning to make some potatoes like this. They look so good! Thanks for sharing, I’ll have to try this recipe!

    Like

  5. Effing love hasselback potatoes!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      omg, how good are they? I can’t believe that I don’t make them more often, but I think after this time round they will be in higher rotation in our kitchen 🙂

      Like

      1. Damn yeah! Smiley face

        Like

  6. nancy@jamjnr.com says:

    And there’s the finished photo I was looking for. I never think of doing potatoes this way so I must remember next time I do a roast. I read that if you put a skewer through the bottom of the potato it helps you with the slices and ensures you don’t go right through.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh that sounds like a good trick. I did have a few failures with my knife but these are sensational and well worth the effort 🙂

      Like

  7. ohlidia says:

    I’ve made these before and loved them!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      They’re yummy aren’t they 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

