Ginger Nut Biscuits

1This recipe has been sitting on my must make list now for almost 6 months, I kid you not.  I’ve had this post written since September last year yet I’ve somehow just not gotten around to actually making the recipe.  What was I thinking??? So so simple to make and absolutely delicious.   Even the non ginger eating member of the house liked the texture and flavour.

The reason they’ve been on my list is that when I was a child we rarely had bought baked goods, but one of the things Mum would buy was ginger nut biscuits for them to dunk in their coffee and us in our milk.   Some how I’ve associated it to Sunday afternoons in particular and ever since I loved the texture of a milk soaked ginger nut and I’ve been dreaming of recreating the sensation.  Unfortunately I didn’t bake mine long enough to get the texture right, but I’ll give them another go again very soon and let you know how I go.

In the meanwhile here is a great recipe for making a super quick and easy treat for your afternoon tea on the couch on a rainy day.  The original recipe is another family great and you can read all about Mum’s memories of these biscuits over at Please Pass The Recipe.

3

Ginger Nut Biscuits

  • 90g Butter
  • 2 tbl sp. golden syrup
  • 60g brown sugar
  • 210g plain flour
  • 1 tbl sp. ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp bicarb soda
  • 2 tbl sp boiling water.

Pre-Heat your oven to 170c.

Melt the butter with the sugar and golden syrup.  Dissolve the bicarb in the boiling water and then add to the butter mixture.  Swirl to combine.

Sieve flour and spices into the pot and mix to combine.  Allow to rest for 5 minutes.

Drop heaped tsp onto baking sheets allowing space for the biscuits to spread.

87

Cool on a wire rack.

Happy Baking & Happy Eating

Leah

One Comment Add yours

  1. Love ginger biscuits! I have a few of those posts – written, not cooked. Know the feeling!

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

