Toasted Hazelnut, Honey and Ginger Muesli

1

The middle of last year I had a very disappointing revalation that I had developed an allergy to oats.  As a lover of porridge, muesli, grainy breads and crumbles this was a highly difficult discovery that I wasn’t sure how I was going to get around.  In fact I’m inclined to forget, thinking oats are good for me, and then end up with a runny nose, a blocked throat and some not such pretty skin.

When I visit to my local dry goods store I tend to have a browse to see what might be different and worth trying and when I saw quinoa flakes I wondered if they might be a good substitute.  This is my first experiment cooking with them, but if the sampling from the oven is anything to go by I think we might have a winner.

Muesli is tasty for breakfast, pretty healthy depending on what ingredients you add in, and also delicious used as a substitute for crumble on stewed fruit for a quick and easy dessert. I love it with some natural yoghurt and fresh fruit and tend to have it when I feel like I’m needing a break from having toast for breakfast in the warmer months. I’m fussy over the commercial versions and tend to resort to making it myself because it really is a pretty simple thing to do.  Look out for what I end up putting together this winter to satisfy my comfort cravings at breakfast.  I might have to go back to a bit more exploring of the dry goods store.

4

I hope you enjoy the recipe for Toasted Hazelnut, Honey and Ginger Muesli here.  You can substitute the nuts and dried ginger for any other nuts or fruit that might take your fancy.  I also love almond and cranberries, and almond and dried apricots.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

8 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks sooooo good!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thanks Jo, it’s pretty yummy 🙂

      Like

  2. Oooh, oat allergy. Gotta suck. This muesli looks cracking though!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Lol, yeah it does but I’m pretty stoked with how this turned out.

      Like

  3. Absolutely scrumptious.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

