Saffron and Cardamom Poached Nectarines

Saffron and Cardamom Poached Nectarines
Saffron and Cardamom Poached Nectarines

I sometimes find myself with lofty illusions of what I’m going to be able to create in the kitchen.  I purchase fresh ingredients hoping they will inspire me with their presence or be devoured in the meanwhile.  Recently a bowl of nectarines have been the latest target in my kitchen.  I bought them thinking I would take them as healthy snacks for lunches, but instead they have wiled away the days in the fridge and slowly started to show the signs of getting long in the tooth with saggy skins.  The time had come to cook these babies instead of clinging to the hope that I would eat them fresh.

The nectarines met their match with this beautiful saffron, lemon and cardamom syrup that I poached them in.  The flavours are present without being overwhelming, well matched to the luscious qualities of the poached fruit.  So simple to create this dish really has the makings of an impressive dessert if coupled perhaps with a rose scented pavlova and perhaps some toasted pistachio nuts.  There is that ambition showing again….. for now though I’ll be content to have a spoon or two for breakfast with my muesli and dream of the delicious desserts I could create with this fruity foundation as the centre piece.

Saffron and Cardamom Poached Nectarines

Saffron & Cardamom Poached Nectarines

  • approx 8-10 yellow nectarines
  • 1 pinch of saffron threads
  • 3 cardamom pods
  • 2 tbl sp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup verjuice
  • zest of 1/2 lemon

Wash and then halve your nectarines, removing the pits. Place the fruit with the remaining ingredients into a medium-sized saucepan.  Cook over a very low heat with the saucepan covered for approx 20 minutes or until the nectarines have softened.

Serve with Greek yoghurt or a dollop of double cream and some smashed pavlova.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    Seriously yum Leah! Xxx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you! They were awesome x

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

