Roasted Carrot, Lemon and Harissa Dip

2It’s been a while since I’ve shared a dip recipe with you all and to be honest, it has been a while since I’ve made some to share in our house as well.  We have the fall back guacamole but even that has been rare with avocados being pretty expensive.  I’m not quite sure what even motivated me to get back into making dips, but I can give credit to Tiny White Cottage for the idea of adding the harissa to my carrots to give them a bit of kick.

What I loved about this dip was the mellow flavour of the carrots coupled with the spice of the harissa and the freshness that the lemon gave to balance it all out.  We snacked on this cold with rice crackers but i think it would be equally as delicious served warm as a mash with some spiced lamb or chickpeas.

Roasted Carrot, Lemon & Harissa Dip

  • 3 large carrots, peeled and cut into 4/5 pieces
  • 2 lemons, zest and juice
  • approx 3 tbl sp. olive oil
  • 3 tsp harrisa
  • salt and cracked black pepper to taste

Pre-heat your oven to 180c approx.  Peel and cut your carrots into largish chunks and place onto a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper.  Lightly oil the carrots with some of the olive oil and rub in the harissa and the zest of the lemons.  Place your carrots into the oven and bake for approximately 30 minutes or until the carrots are starting to brown on the edges.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely.

Into a food processor add your roasted carrots, 1/2 the lemon juice and the olive oil.  Puree, adding some more lemon juice and olive oil if needed to get a creamy consistency.  Season to taste and serve.

This dip can be kept in the fridge for a few days.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Leah! Wow, this is fantastic. I need to make this dip. You certainly don’t have to worry about calories with this one so I would most likely finish off the bowl all by myself. Maybe just a spoon and this bowl of dip and I’m in heaven. You picture is gorgeous. I love the recipe, sounds delicious. Thank you for the the ping back too! 🙂 I’m honored you mentioned me…

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, I think it’s going to be a versatile recipe. Thank you for the inspiration 🙂

      Like

  2. trixpin says:

    Lovely photo, and a great thing to do with carrots. I bought far too many recently and so I’ll try this as a way of using a few up (maybe with a few chickpeas as a sort of houmous?). Thank you 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. Great idea to make a carrot hummus. I too have a stack of carrots again so I might give the same a try 🙂

      Like

  3. I can see this is a great fall-back recipe. I always have these ingredients on hand. Perhaps mixed with a bit of ajvar instead of harrisa? Something to experiment with, at least. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh I agree, it’s a great last minute snack and really the flavour possibilities are endless 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

