In My Kitchen

In my April kitchen seems to be an overabundance of carrots!  We love to eat them raw, roasted, turned into dips, salads and baked delights so they are always on my shopping list.  This week though I think I went a little bit overboard on the carrot front so now the challenge is to find some more delicious recipes to transform them.

1

Another over-supply in my kitchen in the form of banana’s, but this one was a little bit more deliberate.  I actually love really ripe bananas in my smoothies and to make Yvette’s Yummy Banana Bread more than I do having them as they come when you first buy them.  These beauties are almost ready to be turned into something delicious.

2

In my kitchen is a very well loved character and bottle opener: The Beached Az whale.  Do yourself a favour and next time you need a chuckle google the series that showed on ABC in Australia a few years ago.  They are side splittingly hilarious and particularly so if you have a Kiwi in your family.

5

In my kitchen is my relatively new and under utilised slow cooker.  I received this as an awesome present last year for my birthday but its only had a few showings so far.  Last month I made pulled pork for the first time and given the result I think this baby is going to be spending a whole lot more time on the bench this winter than in the cupboard.

3

In my kitchen is a glass with a few stalks of rosemary that I’m hoping to strike.  This beautiful herb actually has a long life in my garden.  The parent plant now lives with my sister in Melbourne, but she originally came from Adelaide as a baby and grew into a beautiful bush.  Unable to bring her to Brisbane because of space and concerned quarantine restrictions she found a new home and we sneakily tucked a few stalks in a freezer bag in hope of striking a new bush.  Three years on and her children are looking very healthy and it’s time to try spreading the love a little with some new pots to perhaps end up as gifts.

6

The Transplants from Melbourne
The Transplants from Melbourne

Surrounding this precious nursery is a very small selection of the glassware that inhabits my kitchen.  I love glass and have to stop myself from buying pieces when I’m in homewares stores, op-shops, markets and most of all Ikea.  These are a few of my vases, candle holders that double beautifully as small snack bowls or for relish and chutney, and an old oil lamp that I purchased at an oceanside market at Victor Harbour in South Australia a number of years ago.

7

Finally in my kitchen is this beautiful painting that I created nigh on 15 years ago.  It’s a wonderful reminder to me that I am creative and really should get back to brush in hand to create some more work.  I also love the sunny colours which I think perfectly emulate a good morning, hello kind of feeling.

4

If you loved taking a sneak peek in my kitchen this month and want to see what is happening in other food bloggers kitchen’s around the globe, make sure you check out Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial and join in the fun.

Happy April Everyone,

Leah

25 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    Nice peek into your kitchen Leah! Xx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      thank you 🙂

      Like

  2. nancy@jamjnr.com says:

    That’s a well travelled rosemary plant they are hardy herbs aren’t they. Do you ever use the oil lamp? It’s quite beautiful.

    Like

  3. Ooh, I have those little Ikea tealight holders Leah, and I use them to grow succulents in. They do quite well so long as you don’t overwater them. And Lorraine at Not Quite Nigella has the most gorgeous carrot recipe on her blog today – would be perfect for your bounty! As Nancy says, rosemary is very hardy, so hopefully it will strike well for you and grow like crazy as it does in our garden. We have a sprawling variety, but the hard stemmed ones make the best skewers (once de-leafed)!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      what a great idea to use the candle holders as tiny pot plants…. I find them so versatile. I’ll check out Lorraine’s blog for her carrot recipe, although we roasted a big chunk of them last night and they were delicious. 🙂

      Like

  4. Francesca says:

    Start painting again- well, if you ever have any time, which you probably don’t. That painting is very good.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Francesca. I know I need to get into it again. Time is the essential ingredient currently missing but I’ll get there. 🙂

      Like

  5. Hehe we’ve got the same two first things here! Lots of carrots and lots of overripe bananas 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      lol! Love your carrot recipe you posted so I’m going to try using up some of them that way this weekend. 🙂

      Like

  6. G’day! Love the whal bottle opener and how you place the rosemary in the vase! Love your carrot recipe!
    Thanks for your kitchen view this month too!
    Cheers! Joanne

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Joanne.

      Like

  7. Sally says:

    Gorgeous purple carrots and beautiful glassware. You should paint again – really lovely.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Sally

      Like

  8. Lovely post Leah. The rosemary grows like a weed here too, I’ve had to take to mine with saw! That market hall in IKEA is evil…it all just wants to come home with me… Thanks for the tour!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you! I agree about ikea…I can’t visit without spending money! 🙂

      Like

  9. Mel Kettle says:

    I’d be happy to share some of our very overgrown rosemary with you if you need some. I really should cook with it more. I love your glassware, especially the oil lamp. And I can’t look at any George Foreman product without laughing – my SIL’s dad buys all his kids the same gift for Christmas every year. A few years ago they all were given George Foreman grills

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh thank you Mel. I have plenty of Rosemary, just propagating the next generation as potential gifts for people. Glad you got a chuckle about the George Foreman slow cooker, it was a gift, but one that I very much wanted 🙂

      Like

      1. Mel Kettle says:

        A slow cooker is one of the few kitchen appliances I don’t have – one day…

        Like

      2. Leah says:

        you can live without it and Ive been very slow to jump on the bandwagon but so far the results have justified the purchase. I think it’s the hands off cooking and the wonderful flavours I’ve been able to create without having to pay too much attention that have sold me. I do know it was a Gumtree purchase so it wasn’t expensive 🙂

        Like

      3. Mel Kettle says:

        yeah i wondered. Because I work from home I just slow cook stuff in the oven and relocate my “office” to sit in front of the oven when it’s a cold day 🙂

        Like

      4. Leah says:

        LOL, sounds to me like you have the best of both worlds, I would probably do the same if I could as I still swear by my cast iron pots for some recipes. Another plus for me is not having to put the oven on when its hot outside. It doesn’t seem to generate a lot of heat externally which is a real plus in Queensland weather. And now I’ll remove my saleswomen hat that seemed to slip on there for a minute 🙂

        Like

      5. Mel Kettle says:

        I’m in Queensland too so saying “cold day” really seems a bit silly. But you know what I mean 🙂

        Like

      6. Leah says:

        ha ha… very true, although some of the winters I’ve experienced haven’t exactly warm for this ex Melbournite

        Like

  10. Glenda says:

    Hi Leah, I finally got around to checking out your IMK post. I can’t believe you like over ripe bananas. I like them more than a little green. Those guys would be in the compost bin by now if they lived at my house. 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Lol… But there is so many yummy things to make with ripe bananas….I could never throw them out 🙂 hope you enjoy your long weekend.

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

