Middle Eastern Inspired Semolina Porridge

on

photo 1 (3)This morning for breakfast I decided I needed to eat something different from the Irish Soda Bread that I’ve been obsessed with for the last month.  My wanderings over the last few days through Claudia Roden’s New Book of Middle Eastern Food led me to a recipe for semolina porridge and reminded me how much I like it.  With the weather much cooler in the mornings it seemed like a great idea and one I ran with and turned into a little Middle Eastern flavoured treat.

This recipe is really only inspired by Roden’s as I omitted the high amounts of sugar in her recipe, which is more of a dessert than for breakfast.  I also omitted the butter. As for the flavourings the alternatives are endless as to how you flavour this porridge and it is a great idea for people who suffer from food allergies like oats or need to eat gluten free.  Tomorrow I think I’ll be trying Cinnamon, Dried Apricots and Walnuts to continue my Middle Eastern bent.

Middle Eastern Inspired Semolina Porridge

  • 1/4 cup fine semolina
  • 1 cup milk of your choice or water (I used soy milk)
  • 1 tbl spoon Rose Water
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup frozen Raspberries
  • 1 tsp castor sugar
  • 2 tbl sp flaked almonds

To make the porridge combine the semolina and liquid in a small saucepan.  Cook over a low heat continuing stirring so that you avoid it going gluggy or lumpy. Your porridge will be ready when it thickens.  At this stage stir through your raspberries (keep a few for decoration), castor sugar and rose water.  Serve in a bowl and then decorate with the remaining raspberries and the flaked almonds.  Serve hot.

Happy Cooking and Happy Eating,

Leah

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. alifemoment says:

    Definitely it’s an healthy breakfast, i like it 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thankyou, and whilst healthy it still tasted decadent

      Like

  2. Nice! I need to pick up rose water. I like how you toned it down on the sugar and butter. Looks wonderful.

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

