Healthy Rice Crispy Squares

8

It’s funny how many childhood favourites stay with you as you grow up and get older.  Tastes change, but in so many ways they really don’t.   As a child Rice Bubbles were always one of my favourite breakfast cereals.  I loved putting my ear to the bowl filled with bubbles and milk and hearing them go Snap Crackle & Pop.  I also loved the texture of them with my milk.  They stayed crispy almost to the end of the bowl, unlike other cereals.  To this day, I still love crunchy textures in my food, be it a stick of celery, the little gritty bits in good Parmesan Cheese, or plenty of sesame seeds in my bread.

Fast forward to the grown up years and  I’ve been staring down a bag of Rice Bubbles (puffed rice) in my pantry now for about 4 months.  I bought them to use 1 cup for a recipe I was making and the remaining box has been idle ever since.   Over the months I’ve thought about using them for something, even considered just having them for breakfast but they just didn’t end up getting used.   So I turned to one of the best visual aids I know for giving you food inspiration, Pinterest.  Whoever came up with the site should be congratulated on such a brilliant idea.  I find it so inspiring for very different reasons including as a great source of recipes.

Finding a photograph that someone had pinned from http://www.sugarfreekids.com.au of their rice crispy treat bursting with sesame seeds was the lightbulb moment that I needed.  I did find plenty of other recipes so this is a bit of a mish mash of my favourite bits to create a healthy and tasty rice crispy treat.  The result is a delicious and firm square of slice which is light and crispy and only slightly sweet to the palate.  My only feedback on the ingredients is that the Chia and Sesame dominate the flavours which is fine for a grown up palate, but perhaps halve my quantities if you are making this for children so it’s not quite to savoury.

3

Note: If you’re looking for the creamed coconut, you should be able to find it at an Asian Grocers.   Coconut oil might leave the mixture a bit greasy so if you can’t find the creamed coconut you may be better off looking to a more traditional recipe with butter.

Healthy Rice Crispy Squares

inspired by http://www.sugarfreekids.com.au

  • 3 1/2 cups Rice Bubbles or puffed rice
  • 3 tbl sp. chia seeds
  • 1 cup sesame seeds
  • 3 tbl sp. honey
  • 200g creamed coconut
  • zest 2 small lemons
  • 3 tbl sp. desiccated coconut

Melt the creamed coconut and honey together until both are liquid.  This will have a still slightly thicken consistency.

In a large bowl mix the dry ingredients together with the lemon zest.  Add the coconut and honey liquid and mix until all the ingredients are coated.  Using a brownie pan or plastic slice container, line with cling wrap.  Pour in the bubble mixture and then press down firmly with the back of a spoon.

Place the container into the fridge for about 20 mins to solidify and then cut into squares for eating. You should be able to keep this out of the fridge in cooler climates but refrigerate if the mixture starts to get sticky.

4

Makes approx 35 squares.

Happy Baking & Happy Eating,

Leah

13 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    Great looking slice Leah and it sounds delicious xxx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you… yeah it turned out really quite well given it was a bit of an experiment 🙂

      Like

  2. Fiona says:

    Love this! Especially the hint of lemon!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Fiona. It’s been a delicious snack that I’m sure to make again. 🙂

      Like

  3. I like these a lot better than marshmallows and puffed rice! We called them Rice Krispy Treats, after the Kellogg brand. The recipe used to be printed on the back of every cereal box. Rice Bubbles? I love it when I run across new terms…and new, innovative recipes. These seem like a cross between the kids’ treats and sesame pastelli.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh thank you. I looked at a number of different recipes before settling on a version like this one. Rice Bubbles are Kellogs too, the Australian version I think. I’ll have to look up pastelli, I suspect that I might like them quite a bit. Notice my obsession with sesame seeds continues? 🙂

      Like

    2. Leah says:

      ps. just googled Pastelli… and I’m currently obsessed by them… we just call them sesame crips here in Australia. 🙂

      Like

      1. They are wonderful! It was the only thing that my son (allergic to peanuts) could eat as a sweet when in Greece. I’ve always wondered how to make them.

        Like

      2. Leah says:

        I’d been thinking about making them myself and was going to play around in the kitchen… now I’ll just be visiting my friend Tessa Kiros for her recipe. I’ll let you know how it turns out 🙂

        Like

  4. nancy@jamjnr says:

    This reminds me of those popped rice cakes you get in Chinese bakeries – do you know the ones I mean? These looks more heart and waist friendly though 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, they are pretty delish. Not aware of the Chinese ones, you may need to share a picture or I’ll do some googling. You have me intrigued 🙂

      Like

  5. If you only knew how many rice crispy treats I used to make, and I would eat the whole sheet myself! I’m going to have to make these Leah, fantastic. I love how you called them rice bubbles. I have never heard them called that before. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

