Slow Cooked Pork Belly

6

I’ve been dreaming of using my slow cooker all summer.   I know it doesn’t produce heat so really it should’ve been getting a work out way earlier than now, but somehow I couldn’t bring myself to think about eating a warm casserole style meal in the middle of the heat we’ve been having.  Oh well, we’re into Autumn now and the weather is starting to be more moderate which is lending itself to more luscious warming food.

This recipe is one that I’ve had on my list to attempt since Genie posted it on her blog Bunny. Eats. Design back in October.   She cooked it as part of her wonderful concept Our Growing Edge which encourages you to explore new ingredients, new recipes and then share them as part of a monthly roundup.  I’m hoping I’m not being too cheeky recreating a recipe from this collection to contribute back to this month’s Our Growing Edge.  Pork Belly is not something I’ve cooked with before, and the slow cooker has only had one outing so this is a real learning curve for me and one that I was happy to embrace.

The end result was not quite as we expected unfortunately.  I cooked my pork belly for 10 hours and we found it to still be fatty and the meat quite tough.  It’s highly possible that it was the cut of meat that I used that resulted in a less than delightful outcome.  The aroma was mouth watering and the marinade flavour really was great.  I won’t hesitate to use it again for another cut of meat but I’d be quite happy not to attempt pork belly in the near future.

7

Slow Cooked Pork Belly

modified from Bunny. Eats. Design

Feeds about 4

Ingredients

  • 1 kg (2 lb+) slab of pork belly
  • 1/4 cup sugar (white is fine, soft brown will result in a deeper flavour)
  • 1/4 cup black vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon five spice powder
  • 4 cloves garlic
    Optional: a dash of dark soy sauce

 

Peel and roughly chop the garlic, put in your slow cooker along with all the other ingredients except for the pork belly.
Remove the pork belly from the rib bone if it has come this way.  Then cut the pork belly into bit sized pieces. It’s ok if they aren’t exactly even.
Cook for a minimum of 10 hours on lowest setting, turning pork strips over at least once.

54

When the pork is cooked remove from the marinade and serve hot with steamed rice and green vegetables.

our-growing-edge-badge

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Danm. It looks soooo good

    Like

  2. Hi Leah, not cheeky at all!

    Kind of cool for one Our Growing Edge submission inspires another Our Growing Edge submission .

    As for pork belly, I grew up with it and love the fatty, porkiness (is that a word?) of the meat. You are right though, it can be too fatty for some but 10 hours of cooking shouldn’t be tough. I would recommending trying a pork shoulder (with skin removed) if you are happy with the flavours but not with the fattiness of the belly. I always use shoulder for my slow cooked pulled pork. In fact, I just bought a 2 kg pork shoulder yesterday so we’ll be having pulled pork again this week. I might test out these flavours with it this time and report back.

    What else are you cooking in your slow cooker this Autumn?

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thanks Genie, I did pulled pork with a shoulder in the slow cooker and loved it so next time I’ll definitely be trying your marinade with that. I think my next adventure with the slow cooker will be cooking quinces. I love them and they are best cooked at a long slow speed 🙂 other than that some research is in order for ideas. Let me know if you have any gem recipes I should try

      Like

  3. I haven’t used our slow cooker to cook anything sweet or fruit yet. Just meats, meat and more meat! I’ve heard it makes a wonderful baked potato though. Might try that next time I feel inspired to make gnocchi.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh love that idea of baked potatoes, as potato fiends I’ll have to give that a try 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

