In My May Kitchen

The month of April has been a disjointed one with Easter and Anzac long weekends back to back. As such my kitchen has been missing me a little but I’ve still got some yummy treats to share with you all for May.

First up in my kitchen is a massive stash of handmade Turkish Delight that I made as part of a dare from Lady Red Specs and as part of our cookbook book club, The Cookbook Guru. There is still room for improvement but it is a much more successful version that my first attempt.  Currently I’m trying to dry it so that it will take the cornflour and icing sugar dusting without it melting.  Any idea’s for this would be most welcome.

3

In my kitchen is a delicious bottle of garlic olive oil that a girlfriend visiting from Melbourne gave to us.  I love drizzling this onto roast vegetables.

may3

In my kitchen is another platter that I found buried on a back shelf at target…a great bargain and fabulous for serving lots of different dishes like this Layered Vegetable and Haloumi Salad.may5IMG_8304

 

In my kitchen is a pile of cookbooks I borrowed from the library on a whim.  Some have been wonderful treasures that I would love to own, others pleasant to look through and I’m okay with handing back.

may4

I think soon I may have to say In My Kitchen Library as yes, there are more books in my kitchen as I still have a large number of recipes that I want to try from Claudia Roden’s Book of Middle Eastern Food that we focussed on in April as part of The Cookbook Guru.  Yup all those blue tags are recipes that I’m looking forward to making.  If you haven’t already make sure you check out the beautiful food our members contributed from this book.

may1

And finally in my kitchen this month is a mess….time to get in there and create some order so that I can go back to creating delicious meals and scrumptious treats.

Thank you to Celia at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for creating and hosting this wonderful kitchen round up every month.  If you loved seeing some of the things in my kitchen then make sure you check out all the wonderful posts offered by other foodies from all around the world.

Have a wonderful May Everyone!

Leah

 

25 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice Turkish delight! I may have to give that a try because we can’t get any decent ones here. I once had a cinnamon TD in Aus and would love to recreate it.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh thank you so much! I love the idea of a cinnamon turkish delight. Maybe for the next experiment 🙂

      Like

  2. G’day! What a lovely kitchen view Leah, true!
    Love your photo of your layered Vegetable salad and who doesn’t love heaps of cookbooks for inspiration too!
    Cheers! Joanne

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much Joanne… definately a food AND book lover 🙂

      Like

  3. thewoodenspoonsblog says:

    Oh that Turkish delight…yum! I find it so hard borrowing cook books from the library as I inevitably don’t want to return them 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      I was reluctant with some of the books and have added them to my Wishlist 🙂

      Like

  4. Every kitchen needs a library (so says the former librarian). I don’t know what I would do without mine. Love the Turkish delight and roasted veg salad. Oh, and if you cook, kitchens are messy, so don’t worry.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. I can never ever have too many books and I agree with a messy kitchen (well it suits my purposes anyway) as it means that lots of food gets created within 🙂

      Like

  5. nancy@jamjnr says:

    Don’t you love those finds at Target? I can’t believe you still have any of the Turkish Delight left it wouldn’t last a week in my house 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      If you could see just how much turkish delight we have at the moment… I love the occassional bite but reading in Roden’s book about the plump Turkish ladies indulging in their favourite treat has kept me slightly hesitant in indulging too much

      Like

  6. Wow, you made Turkish delight? I’ve never been game to try. I do know that the ones we buy from Harkola have HEAPS of cornflour and icing sugar on them, almost too much for the confectionery to actually absorb. Lovely platter, what a great find, and I quite like that Jamie cookbook (it accompanies the tv show which I also really enjoyed).

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Hi Celia, I think you’d find Turkish Delight a cinch with your cooking skills. The main ingredient is honestly patience and then time 🙂 I didn’t mind flicking through Jamie Oliver’s book but like some of his others better. My favourites where cooking with Verjuice from Maggie Beer and also Manna From Heaven, a really beautiful book from a Sydney chef and foodie.

      Like

  7. Francesca says:

    Hi Leah, I am so pleased to hear that you also have a mess in your kitchen. Your good food ( and mine) doesn’t come from some sterile factory. Bring on the Mess and then pray for some kitchen fairies!!!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh thank you Francesca…. I’m still waiting on the fairies to visit my kitchen, but I’ve scrounged enough space to continue cooking and creating which is what I love. I think its a bit like an artists studio, to be authentic there needs to be bits of paint dribbled all over the place, and little piles of useful stuff just waiting to be used. 🙂

      Like

  8. ladyredspecs says:

    Better get that mess cleaned up my Friday! Xxxx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      LOL… and I thought you might be the kitchen fairy that Francesca said would come to visit 🙂 All clean and tidy again (well as much as it can be) in ready for some VIP’s 🙂 xxx

      Like

  9. Hi Leah, I’m definitely envious of your Turkish delight. I made some recently that flopped big time. I also have some infused Cobram olive oil and I really like it.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Maureen for your comments. If you’re looking for a good Turkish Delight recipe then I can highly recommend Claudia Roden’s. 🙂

      Like

  10. Clever you making Turkish Delight – I love it. No tips to dry it though this week the air has been so dry in Brissie that I’m sure it’s helped. Love the photo of KG Sq in your sidebar. Cheers.

    Like

  11. I love Turkish Delight and your platter is exquisite. I wish we had a Target.
    Have a lovely day Leah.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much Mandy. 🙂

      Like

  12. shaheen says:

    wELL DONE ON MAKING YOUR FIRST BATCH OF tURKISSH DELIGHT, I HOPE TO MAKE SOME SOME DAY.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much! I would recommend this recipe if you do decide to make it as its been the easiest to follow that I’ve found. 🙂 Leah

      Like

  13. Leah, your garlic olive oil sounds so tasty, especially drizzled on your beautiful platter of roasted veggies! A friend of mine (trained at a culinary school) shared a hint on “how to make your own”… place peeled garlic cloves in a saucepan, cover with extra virgin olive oil, and simmer over low heat (watching carefully so they don’t “over-brown”) until golden. Remove the cloves to cool immediately… then store them in the garlic-infused oil…quasi-‘roasted’-garlic with garlic oil to boot! (Store all in the fridge in a tightly covered jar.) Such a flavorful post, thank you!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Kim. I’ll definately have to give this a try as we both love garlic in our place. Thanks for stopping by, Leah

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

