Rustic Caponata

caponata2

This dish is one that instantly takes me back to my childhood.  We would enjoy it with semolina cheese baked gnocchi and I always remember loving the contrast of the rich vegetables with the smooth cheesy flavour of the gnocchi.  Unfortunately I don’t make it very much as I find that only a little goes a long way and I’m the sole lover of eggplants in our household.

Recently though, I had a few eggplants left over in the fridge from my month of making Middle Eastern food and this was my first choice of treats to make myself.  Another simple to create treat that takes only minutes to create and come with maximum flavour.

caponata1

Rustic Caponata

  • 4 finger eggplants or 2 larger ones
  • 2 x 400g tins chopped tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 2 red capsicums, roasted and de-skinned and seeded
  • 2 zucchinis
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 spanish onions, sliced
  • 8 anchovies
  • 2 tbl sp. olive oil
  • 1/2 Kalamata olives
  • 1 small birdseye chilli, finely sliced (optional)
  • salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

Cut up the vegetables into bite sized pieces.  Warm a large saucepan over a medium heat and then add a dash of olive oil and the anchovies.  When the anchovies start to fry, add the eggplant, zucchini, capsicum, garlic, chilli and onions.  Stir well and cook until starting to brown at the edges.  At this point add the red wine vinegar and cook for about 5 minutes.  Then add the tomatoes and stir well.  Cook over a low-med heat until the sauce thickens, stirring occasionally, this will take approx 30-40 minutes.  Add your olives and stir well and continue cooking for another 5 minutes.  Season and serve hot with some polenta or couscous and a sprinkling of parmesan cheese.  This is also delicious heated for breakfast and served with a fried egg.

Happy Cooking and Happy Eating,

Leah

 

caponata4

14 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve started to like eggplant after a lifetime of hating it but I don’t think I’m ready for eggplant for breakfast yet. Good to know what I can work towards though!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      lol…well this is not very eggplanty so it might be a good way to get some more eggplant in your life 🙂

      Like

  2. Brings back memories of Sicily – caponata with every meal!

    Like

  3. Caponata is the way to convert even the most staunch of eggplant haters. I love this shit!!

    Like

  4. alifemoment says:

    I love Caponata, yours looks delicious, well done! 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you!

      Like

      1. alifemoment says:

        You’re welcome 🙂

        Like

  5. Goon one Leah! I love Caponata and have never made it before. I’m the only on in the house who loves eggplants and I really love them. Without hesitation I will make this for myself and who knows…maybe I’ll convert my hub! Great recipe.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. It does freeze well too so if you find you can’t get through the batch its a great way to then treat yourself in small doses 🙂

      Like

  6. ladyredspecs says:

    Yay, it’s still a hot fave with M, we have it regularly. It continues to evolve. Xx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      oldie but a goodie 🙂

      Like

  7. ohlidia says:

    Love caponata. Gorgeous!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      me too…I don’t make it enough! 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

