Macaroons

7

Who knew that macaroons were so easy to make?  Now I’m not saying these turned out like Adrian Zumbo’s perfect round discs of colour, but the flavour and texture was awesome  Given I was using a 1907 recipe from Mrs Beeton as part of The Cookbook Guru I certainly wasn’t wanting them to be high-end French patisserie anyway.  I was just hoping for something light, flavourful and a little crunchy on the outside.

The good news is that these macaroons turned out to have a crisp outer shell and a lovely soft and chewy almond inner that is reminiscent of marzipan.  With only 3 ingredients they are also incredible simple to make, in spite of the horror stories you hear from people of their many failed batches.  This is not to say that there isn’t room for improvement, as a friend suggested, I could refine the texture by blitzing my almond meal into a paste which would make them a more delicate texture.   In her method for making these biscuits she recommends pounding the mixture in a mortar and pestle.  I would honestly be reverting to something a little bit more high tech such as a coffee grinder or a food processor to cheat.   As my neighbour and I tested the end result from the oven, we both agreed that I’ve still created something delicious and it encourages me to abandon the idea that they need to be perfectly shiny saucers that you see being produced in the commercial world.

To modernise this recipe slightly I did add 3 drops of vanilla essence for flavour. As per the original instructions I did cook my macaroons on rice paper as the recipe suggested, but I believe that if you use non-stick baking paper you shouldn’t need to do this.  Just make sure that they are completely cooled through before peeling them off your baking paper.

9

Mrs Beeton’s Macaroons

  • 320g almond meal, finely ground
  • 225g castor sugar
  • 3 egg whites
  • blanched and chopped almonds for decoration.
  • 3 drops vanilla essence (optional)
  • rice paper for baking (optional).

Pre-heat your oven to approx 140c. Line 2 baking trays with non-stick baking paper.

Combine your almond meal and castor sugar well in a bowl.

8

If using an electric mixer, add the egg whites and vanilla and combine until a stiff paste.  If combining by hand, Mrs Beeton recommends using a mortar and pestle to create your mixture until it is a stiff paste.

7

Spoon or pipe the mixture onto the baking sheets allowing space for the mixture to double in size.

64

Bake in the oven for approx 20 minutes or until the biscuits just start to turn golden in colour.  A cooler oven for longer is preferable to a hotter oven.

3

This mixture will make about 25-30 biscuits and keep well in an airtight container for about a week.

Happy Baking and Happy Eating,

Leah

10 star

11 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    Love the pics Leah! These seem almost too simple xxx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. They were sooooo easy I couldn’t believe it. You’ll be able to rock them I’m sure and I believe your chief taste tester would be a fan 🙂 xxx

      Like

  2. ohlidia says:

    I too have this notion that macaroons are terribly difficult to achieve. You’ve proved me wrong. I love it when cookies are slightly crispy on the outside and sort-of gooey in the middle.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      So glad I could demystify them for you, I would say definately give these a go, I couldn’t believe how simple they were to make really and the taste and texture is divine! 🙂

      Like

  3. Great take on Mrs. B’s macaroons! Love the composition of pearls, cut glass, lacy doily, and the cracked spine of Mrs, B’s old book with the macaroons in the photos.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Debi. Absolutely delicious biscuits.
      As for the photo, the pearls are my Nan’s, the cut glass container hers as well and I believe the doily and the book are my Great Grandma’s (my Nan’s Mum). A great little family still life in this picture, just missing a photo of the two lovely ladies really 🙂

      Like

  4. Leah says:

    Reblogged this on The Cookbook Guru and commented:

    A little sweet treat for you as we near the end of this month’s Cookbook Guru and our exploration of Mrs Beeton’s Everyday Cookery. These Macaroons are super simple to make and take all the intimidation out of the modern versions that you encounter in cafes and stores.
    Enjoy, Leah

    Like

  5. Francesca says:

    Quite apart from the lovely macaroons, you have e celled in styling. Wow. Greetings from airport. X

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you Francesca. Using a bit of family memorabilia to create this picture which was a bit of fun. Have an amazing trip 🙂

      Like

  6. huntfortheverybest says:

    they look delightful!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, they were a raging success 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

