Carrot and Cornmeal Soda Bread

Carrot and Cornmeal Soda Bread
Carrot and Cornmeal Soda Bread

When Lady Red Specs posted this recipe on her blog Please Pass The Recipe a few days ago I was instantly excited to try the recipe.  I’ve been seeking something new and different for breakfast and this seemed to fit the bill where muesli, plain old toast and smoothies were losing their appeal.    I loved that it was packed with carrots and fresh herbs and seemed like a flavourful and healthy option.

Upon making the first loaf I was not disappointed.  The texture had that delicious slightly gritty density that I love coupled with the sweetness of the carrot and the slightly buttery back tone from the sour cream.  I found it didn’t need butter at all to serve as it came from the oven quite moist and even a few days old it was still equally as delicious cold.  I served the majority of it with just some sliced fresh tomato seasoned lightly with salt and cracked black pepper for breakfast and loved it.  I can’t wait to experiment with the recipe and try a zucchini or sweet potato option for my next batch.  The only change I did make to the recipe was to substitute sour cream for the yoghurt in the recipe because it was all I had in the fridge.  I think either would work well for your texture and flavour.

7

Carrot and Cornmeal Soda Bread

  • 1 cup instant polenta
  •  1 cup wholemeal flour or spelt
  • 2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 cup coarsely grated carrot
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cracked black pepper
  • 2 tbl sp finely chopped parsley
  • 2 tbl sp finely chopped chives
  • 1 tbl sp maple syrup
  • 1 cup low fat sour cream
  • 2 large eggs
  • 125g unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

Pre-heat your oven to 170c.

Combine all the dry ingredients into a large bowl including the grated carrot.

4

In another bowl whisk together the butter, sour cream and eggs until well combined.  3Add to the dry ingredients and mix well.  Spoon the mixture, which will be quite thick, into a lined loaf tin.

1

Bake for approx 45 minutes or until a skewer returns from the loaf cleanly.

Allow to cool in the tin for about 5 minutes and then cool on a cooling rack.  Best eaten slightly warm but will keep for about 5 days in the fridge.

Happy Baking and Happy Eating,

Leah

1

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Francesca says:

    Ah, I remember when your mother made this a while back and I thought it sounded delicious. It still looks good and I must try it soon, since I am on a bread making mission.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      It’s is delicious and worth giving a try 🙂

      Like

  2. ladyredspecs says:

    Really glad you tried and liked this Leah. I’ve been looking at your soda bread recipe, need to find some spare time to bake….xxxx

    Like

  3. mydearbakes says:

    Wow! Thumbs up for your amazing bake!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  4. trixpin says:

    Gorgeous looking recipe! I make carrot and pumpkin seed yeast bread but don’t think I’ve ever combined them in a soda form, especially not with polenta. I bet it’s delicious 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. Give it a try, so simple to make and no proving time to think about 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

