Carrot and Blue Cheese Soup

2

Soup has been the dish du jour for me lately with the frosty days of winter upon us.

To be honest though, I really shouldn’t complain about the weather living in Queensland.  Whilst my southern friends and family are shivering through this season, we are still being treated to sunny days of 20+C, although the nights are getting down to single diget temperatures.  It’s one of the reasons I really do love living in Brisbane.  It’s a sign of acclimatization though, when suddenly those sunny days start to require a jumper and scarf, where in the past my Melbourne self would have been breaking out the sundress and sandles.

And with winter comes the desire for yummy comforting food and I can’t think of many foods more nourishing and warming than soup.  At the moment I’ve been using my soups like Lego, creating a base stock as such, and then adding different flavours to mix up the end result so that I never end up having the same soup twice.   This combo that I made with my carrot soup was so good that I thought it was worth sharing.  How you mix and match it really is up to your personal tastes because the possibilities are endless.

Base Carrot Soup

serves 2

  • 8-10 medium sized carrots, peeled and cut into bite sized pieces
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • enough water to cover the carrots and garlic in your medium sized saucepan.
  • salt and cracked black pepper to taste
  • approx 50g fresh baby spinach
  • 3 tbl sp pumpkin seeds
  • approx 60g Stilton Blue Cheese

Prepare your carrots and place into the saucepan and add enough water to just cover them.  Peel your garlic cloves and add.  Place the saucepan over a medium heat and bring the water to a boil.  Simmer until the carrots are cooked through.

Remove the carrots from the heat and blitz to a puree with a stick blender or in a conventional blender.  Season to taste.

To serve place a handful of spinach into each bowl.  Pour over half of the carrot soup into each bowl, covering the spinach as you go.  Garnish with the pumpkin seeds and half of the blue cheese crumbled over each bowl.

Serve hot with some corn bread or wholemeal soda bread.

Shared With Love,

Leah

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Francesca says:

    I’ll have some of that. It is very sunny here in Melbourne Leah, and either I make your carrot soup, or head over the hills to the Yarra Valley and see what they have for me.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Yay! Glad the sun has come out, we we’re welcomed back to a sunny Brisbane which was nice 🙂 if I was you I’d be visiting the Yarra Valley because I know how gorgeous it is. This soup takes maybe 5 minutes to make and would make a lovely dinner tonight

      Like

  2. ladyredspecs says:

    Sound delish. Having a gorgeous burst of spring (like Brissy in winter) so we’re eating salads…… Xxxx

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

