Getting Back to Sharing What We Love

As a food blogger it’s very easy to get caught up in the cycle of producing posts, trying to improve your stats and attempting to outdo yourself.  Then inevitably you start thinking about ways to monetize your passion and then it can all starts to feel like a lot of work.  Somewhere along the way it’s very easy to lost why you started blogging in the first place.

Recently I’ve been feeling like my food blogs are doing exactly that.  I love being connected to my fellow food bloggers to the point where I find myself getting frustrated when I don’t have the time or energy to get into the kitchen and create something new and appealing.  I actually find myself having to schedule time in the kitchen on a weekend when there is daylight for me to get the best photographs.  It’s as though my blog is turning into my second or third job and it’s not really the way that I want it to be.  It sucks the pleasure out of the creative process and ultimately has an impact on what I make.

And then I started thinking about the blog itself.  I caught myself writing a review on a resort we stayed at recently in Thailand and it gave me a reality check.  I don’t want my blog to be a glossy magazine full of random pretty things, nor do I want it to be something that you delete upon arrival in your inbox because you’ve received yet another post for the week with the same old tale rehashed.  Sharing The Food We Love is actually about literally doing that, sharing the food we love, in all its forms.  It started as a way to share recipes with friends when they would ask for one from something that I’d made for them for a meal, from there it has gone through many evolutions, but has been the driving force in me building my passion for food, for cooking, for photography and for employing my creative talents.  These are all things that I continue to love sharing and I want to do it in a way that you enjoy reading it as much as I do producing it.

So perhaps I’ll be landing in your inbox a little less frequently, turning up on your news feed on those occasions when I can, and when I’ve created something I just have to share.  I’ll still be madly taking photographs of the food I make and taste as it’s the bit I love the most, so head over to Instagram or Facebook to be a part of my foodie adventures on a more frequent basis.

Afterall it is all about Sharing The Food We Love,

Leah

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Francesca says:

    It’s odd Leah, but at times I feel the same way. I started with a foody approach, with mostly Italian themes, and then went sideways into travel and photography. I like the sideways bit- it allows me to sort through my travel photos and to precis some of my stories. I don’t really care if they are deleted on arrival in readers’ in boxes or not. I write, therefore I am.

    I have to make a decision about FB and Instagram. At present I have chosen not to use these forms of social media. I use FB with my immediate family, otherwise I may not get to talk to them, addicts that they are. To me, Facebook and Instagram are definately ways of increasing traffic and therefore improving the stats, but I am resistant still.

    I think we wax and wane with blogging. Here, winter mornings are a great time to post. It’s cold and impossible to do anything outside. Come spring and summer, garden and pool business takes over, so the posting passion slows down.

    Thanks for the thought provoking discussion. F

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much for your input Francesca. I do love the conversations that I gain from people like yourself from my food blogging so I’m not sure I could leave it altogether, its perhaps more as you say, finding different ways to approach it to suit life at that time. I personally find winter tough because there isn’t enough light for photo’s, if we’d give in up here in Brisvegas and get daylight savings I’m sure that there would be more foodie posts from me on a regular basis 🙂

      As for Instagram and Facebook, they are great ways for me to share where I don’t feel like I need to commit as much time to writing, I can just share an awesome photo, so they keep my fingers in the pie so to speak.

      I’m sure to keep posting, I’m just adapting my when and how to suit my current life better I think 🙂

      Thank you for being a part of my foodie community,

      Leah x

      Like

  2. Leah, I feel you have the right attitude to blog writing & cooking. The love of cooking should always come first. I enjoy writing my posts, but sometimes feel that even two a week is a bit much. I like to tell a story or something interesting about the food – which, frankly, doesn’t always present itself to me in a timely fashion. Having a structure helps – like the cookbook guru, IMK, and my monthly garden posts.

    I use FB to highlight just a few of my blog posts, particularly the garden updates for my sister in the US who shares my passion for gardening. And, I’m afraid I leave instagram and twitter alone!

    I do hope you continue with your posts & the lovely friday foodie photos, even if you post less frequently.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you for your kind words Debi. I do love my food blogging, but there is times where I feel like I pressure myself too much about it and over commit to what I can achieve. A good example is he Cookbook Guru. I love the concept, but I do sometimes find myself up against a deadline with it and feeling like I need to contribute when I don’t have time. Its just finding the balance to make it work.

      For me Instagram and Facebook give me the ability to still share my passion for food without the commitment of the writing involved. The writing is something that I do have to work at and would like to improve on. A happy balance is the key I guess.

      I love your style and the information that you share and its posts like yours that keep me following food blogs. I find them facinating and I love the commitment to sharing techniques, history and tests that you challenge yourself with when you’re in your kitchen and garden.

      I’m sure I’ll still be posting, in fact I have one already on the go, but I’m going to be more considered about it and share the foods that I feel passionately about rather than just feeling like its time to share another food post.

      Thank you for being a part of my foodie and blog community,

      Leah x

      Like

  3. Feast Wisely says:

    Great post and sentiment and you’ve reassured me that I don’t need to invest more energy than I have in worrying about getting magazine quality photos. I try to consider my blog as much for myself as a log of foodie memories for years to come as it is for others to enjoy….

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Very wise words spoken. It’s easy to get caught up in perfection, but as I read on another blog somewhere, your followers want to share in your experience, not something that is clinical and impersonal. I try to remind myself to be true to that and not get lost in trying to be something other than what I want my blog to be at the heart of it all. Thank you for your comments, I appreciate it. Leah

      Like

  4. Stephanie says:

    I understand how you feel!

    I eventually decided that I should focus on trying to produce quality posts rather than quantity. I now post only fortnightly and I feel much better about it.

    I love Instagram as it gives me an place to share what I am creating but with a lot less work than a blog post. I am much more interested in photos than words though!

    I love your artwork too!

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

