A Simple Carrot Salad

 

Carrot, Almond and Sultana SaladJane Grigson spends most of her Vegetable Book cooking the various bounty on offer.  Occasionally though you encounter a beautiful salad snuck in the long list of recipes.  This is the perfect example of something simple and effective in its creation. In fact there is no recipe as such, just a suggestion of a way to serve carrots in a salad.  Trusting the cook to follow their instincts, divine.

Simply combine 2 cups grated carrots with 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup toasted flaked or slivered almonds.  Dress with fresh lemon juice and olive oil.

Simple, fresh, elegant and a great change from the standard BBQ salads that you see around at this time of the year. Besides being a wonderful texture and flavour combination it also adds great colour to your table.  Serve with BBQ pork or lamb, or even perhaps a cold roasted chicken.

Jane Grigson’s Vegetable Book is part of this month’s The Cookbook Guru, where a collection of food bloggers are all sharing recipes created from or inspired by Grigson’s book.

Shared With Love,

Leah

12 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    Sounds fresh and delicious! Xxx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      It was. So simple to make too 🙂

      Like

  2. Never thought about making a salad with carrots. Have you tried it with yellow or purple carrots ? I try to eat regular carrots but I found the purple ones are sweeter so I try to get them if I can at the store.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      its such a simple salad and really tasty so definately give it a go! I find the purple and yellow ones a bit woodier, like a beetroot, but I haven’t tried them in this salad so I can’t say how they would be. I love grated beetroot in a salad too so its possible it would be divine. 🙂

      Like

      1. Ah, beetroot is amazing on anything!

        Like

  3. Nicole says:

    Reblogged this on Life Oriented and commented:
    Saving this for a later date…. 😀
    My sister and I are so interested!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      Enjoy! Its simple, healthy and full of flavour. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Nicole says:

        Thank you! I hope to buy the ingredients (mainly the almonds) soon!

        Like

  4. Leah says:

    Reblogged this on The Cookbook Guru and commented:

    Jane Grigson spends most of her book cooking the vegetables she writes about which I think may be a symptom of the era of her writing and possibly the quality of the vegetables available to her in England at the time. I have managed to find a few salads and was particularly struck with the simplicity of this particular one so I thought I would share it with you.
    Happy Reading and Happy Eating,
    Leah

    Like

  5. luminouszest says:

    great!!! I put peanuts in mine to make a Thai alas

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh great idea, i’ll have to try that.

      Like

  6. My grandmother used to make a similar salad with grated carrots and raisins, but no almonds. I still do the same. I think the salad was probably something popular in the 1960s or perhaps earlier. I find many of Grigson’s recipes come from those earlier times which may or may not have originated with her. The simple salad is worth reviving, though. Beetroot is fantastic with some crumbled feta and I wonder if a handful of raisins would work well. Hmm… something to try!

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

