Buckwheat Pancakes

Buckwheat Pancakes

Pancakes always seem like a decadent treat for me.  It brings up ideas of long lazy Sunday breakfasts over a newspaper with too many cups of coffee.  As I’ve gotten older they also have turned into a yummy breakfast to create when I have the nieces and nephew’s over for a weekend visit.  I know that they are slightly healthy, particularly if they smother them in berries and yoghurt and I feel like I’ve treated them to something fun.   It also wouldn’t be beneath me to make mini pancakes for a teddy bears picnic for the entourage that follows the children.

This particular recipe I found online, and I’m afraid to say I can’t locate the website that I found them on. Kudos to the anonomous person that inspired this recipe. What I like about this pancake version is that it is very easy to remember recipe and the fabulous texture that they made.  I use Bob’s Red Mill wholemeal buckwheat flour which turns the pancakes a wonderful shade of purple. Combined with gluten-free plain flour the texture is neither grainy or chalky, but light and fluffy, just like pancakes should be.

Buckwheat Pancakes

  • 1 cup wholemeal buckwheat flour
  • 1 cup plain or plain gluten-free flour
  • 2 tbl sp castor sugar
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 400ml almond milk/buttermilk
  • butter for cooking

Sift the flours and fold together with the bicarbonate of soda, cinnamon and sugar.  Mix the eggs with the milk and then whisk into the dry mixture.   Allow the batter to sit for at least 30 minutes before cooking.  8

Preheat a frying pan over a medium heat and brush lightly with butter.  Spoon the batter into the frying pan to the size that is desired. If making multiple pancakes at the same time, make sure you allow space for the batter to spread.

9

Allow pancakes to cook on one side until it fills with bubbles and looks a little like the top of a crumpet.  At this point flip it over and cook for another minute or so, until slightly golden.

Serve hot from the pan, or place in an oven to keep warm and then serve when all cooked. The batter can be kept for a few days and cooked as you go for pancakes everyday of the week.

Serve w. fresh fruit, yoghurt, honey, maple syrup, peanut butter…. what ever takes your fancy.

6

Happy Cooking and Happy Eating,

Leah

6 Comments Add yours

  1. trucvert says:

    Stunning! Can’t help but have a great day with a breakfast like this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you! I am a fan of Bob’s Wholemeal Buckwheat flour… love that its healthy, pretty and tasty 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. marymtf says:

    Pancakes remind me of school holidays with my granddaughters. They make them for me now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      love that your grand daughters make pancakes for you. My nieces help me out when I make them which I love 🙂

      Like

  3. milkandbun says:

    Oh, buckwheat always reminds me my homecountry.. Pancakes look very yummy! 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

