Preserved Lemons

preserved lemons 5

As I start to read this month’s choice for The Cookbook Guru I realise very quickly that if I’m going to have any hope of doing this month’s book for The Cookbook Guru any justice then I needed to start at the beginning. You see, we are spending the month’s of March and April cooking from Paula Wolfert’s The Complete Book of Moroccan Food.  It’s a new area of food for me.  I’ve dabbled in it a little with Claudia Roden in previous month’s but this time there is no choice but to embrace the ingredients of this special and delicious cuisine.

And as I begin reading Wolfert’s book I learn very early on, given its pretty much the first recipe shared, that I HAVE to have preserved lemons for any future dishes that I created.  I’m not a stranger to preserved lemons but I’ve never made them from before. This is such a simple condiment to make, with few ingredients, and one that will keep on giving long after the 10 minutes that you spend creating it.

Paula Wolfert’s Preserved Lemons

  • 5 organic lemons
  • 1/3 cup good quality salt
  • 1/2 lemon juice

Steralise a large glass jar.  Wash the lemons and dry well. Roll and massage the lemons to release the juice.

preserved lemons 2

Cut the lemons into quarters from the top back towards the stem end leaving a 1cm bit remaining. The lemon will open up like a flower. Rub a generous amount of salt into the inside of lemons and then close them back up. Place each lemon into the jar and sprinkle with salt before adding the next lemon.

preserved lemons 1

Make sure that the jar is filled with lemon juice before sealing. Place the lemons in a warm location, turning the jar daily, for a minimum of 30 days.

When using the lemons, ensure that you rinse them first to remove the salt, and in most cases unless a recipe specifically calls for it, remove the flesh and pith, just using the skin.

Shared With Love,

Leah

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow- I love cooking with preserved lemons and it actually seems surprisingly easy to make them at home. I will definitely need to give this a try 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh do, I couldn’t believe how easy they are. Only a week left in my brewing to see what the end result is like 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Leah says:

    Reblogged this on The Cookbook Guru and commented:
    A classic and essential part of Moroccan cooking, make sure you check out this post on how to make preserved lemons.

    Happy Reading and Happy Cooking,

    Leah

    Like

  3. They are a staple in my kitchen! And, I agree, very easy to make at home. The commercial ones are ridiculously expensive. Thanks for posting.

    Like

  4. I always have some in the fridge that I have made from a friend’s lemon tree. So nice to make your own.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Homegrown lemons…awesome!

      Like

  5. thehungrymum says:

    yes! need to do this! The flavour of preserved lemons is amazing.

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

