Ginger Carrot Soup with a Touch of Orange

Orange and Carrot Soup

There’s been a lot happening behind the scenes of Sharing The Food We Love and much of it is unrelated to food hence the level of radio silence that has been going on.

I’ve been very hesitant to blog about the biggest news that is happening with us for fear of turning into another blog about pending motherhood, but we are very excitedly expecting our first little G to enter the world in September.  I’ve been very fortunate to be feeling very fit and healthy so far, but one of the weirdest symptoms I can share with you all is my lack of inspiration in the kitchen.  I’m still cooking most days, but my palate has become quite plain, and I’m certainly lacking the energy that generates new idea’s and has me excitedly wanting to share my latest creation with you all.  As a self-professed foodie I am the first to admit it’s weird and a little unsettling.  The other half has suffered through more than normal disasters as my flavour instincts seemed to desert me at times.  Bless him for stepping up to the plate (pardon the pun) and spending more time in the kitchen to feed us.

The good news is that whilst my repertoire may be a little boring and repetitive I can still follow a recipe successfully (most of the time) and with winter upon us I couldn’t look past this delicious sounding soup. You can almost feel the goodness entering your body with the dose of vitamin C from the orange and the pep that the ginger gives the palate left me wanting seconds with seconds of finishing my first bowl of soup.  This recipe was sourced from a Swedish mother/daughter partnership of Fanny and Bergenstrom who wrote Under the Walnut Tree.  It’s a beautiful book with a varied selection of recipes, most have a Scandinavian slant but inspired by the world, which very much appeals to my palate, particularly at the moment.   The book itself is divided into some key ingredients which are quite varied, including ginger, citrus, cardamom, coconut and berries.  A lot of flavours that are my favourite which is part of why I wanted the book in the first place I suspect.  I keep wanting to explore this book in more depth, but never quite getting there so this was a wonderful delight to discover I had the ingredients for an easy to execute lunch option.

Ginger Carrot Soup with a Touch of Orange

from Under the Walnut Tree by Fanny and Anna Bergenstrom

  • approx 500g peeled and finely chopped carrots
  • 200ml fresh orange juice (from 2 oranges)
  • zest of 1 orange
  • 1 brown onion, finely chopped
  • 2-3cm of fresh ginger, finely grated
  • approx 700ml vegetable stock or filtered water
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tbl sp olive oil
  • Natural Greek yoghurt or creme fraiche to serve

Cook the onions in a saucepan over a low heat with the olive oil until they are translucent. Add the carrot, orange juice, grated ginger and stock/water.  Bring to the boil and then simmer for about 15-20 minutes or until the carrot is cooked through.  Remove from the heat.  Puree with a stick standard blender and then season generously with salt and pepper.

Serve warm with yoghurt or creme fraiche and a generous sprinkle of orange zest.  Add some crusty fresh bread heated in the oven and you have a quick and delicious winter meal.

This recipe will serve approximately 4 people.

Shared With Love,

Leah

6 Comments Add yours

  1. marymtf says:

    Congratulations, you darling. I wish you many happy days ahead. Now, for that delicious version of carrot soup.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much 🙂

      Like

  2. Oh my god, that looks DELICIOUS.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. It was a fabulously fresh soup and very nourishing at the same time. 🙂

      Like

  3. Congrats Leah and a lovely soup recipe!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

