The Virtues of Frozen Dinners

Way back when I first started this blog I did a little post about frozen dinners.   Not of a promotional nature or commercial kind, more of a do it yourself kind.  I thought it was high time I revisited this idea with an impending arrival on his way and due any day now.  Being organised with ready made meals is one of the things everyone has been saying to me is a must do for the first month or so of having a newborn baby in the house.  I am very fortunate to have family nearby to help out, a partner who is great in the kitchen  and in particular my Mum nearby (Lady Red Specs of Please Pass The Recipe) so I’m sure we won’t ever go starving.  There will be times however when it’s my turn to be at the stove and an egg on toast may not cut it.

I’m a firm believer that homemade is best and loath to resort to pre-manufactured anything unless I have to so making more than is needed for a meal so that I freeze the left overs is a well formed habit.  For anyone that finds themselves too busy to cook on a week night and resorting to too much takeaway or cheese on toast these meals will make taking care of yourself easy, and far cheaper than relying on the freezer aisle of your local supermarket. Some do require a little last minute preparation, but with a bit of organisation and a day in the kitchen once in a while you can have yourself set up well and have both yourself and your wallet all the healthier for it.

This is just a selection of what is now in my freezer, and I’ll be definately turning to fresh meals as summer arrives, but if you have any idea’s for us going into the spring month’s I’d love some more suggestions for quick and easy to prepare meals, just drop me a note below in the comments section.

Shared With Love,

Leah

Vegetable and Beef Lasagne
Vegetable and Beef Lasagne

Quiches
Quiches
Cheese and Spinach Triangles

Homemade Pizza
Homemade Pizza

2
Zucchini Fritters Served as a Veggie Burger

Rustic Chicken Pie
Rustic Chicken Pie

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Francesca says:

    All look rather delish Leah.All the best for the big event this week or next. I know you won’t starve with Madame Sandra around.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you so much Francesca. Due Saturday but the midwives are all saying its common to go over on average by 9 days for the first so perhaps still some waiting to go. I’m loving having Mum up here helping to fill the freezer already and inspire me with her cooking ideas. 🙂

      Like

  2. You are super organised, Leah! I remember all that energy just before the “impending arrival”. I still remember the mounds of basil I made for the freezer. Love the idea of a zucchini fritter veggie burger. I’m also sure that having lady red specks around will ease the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

