Raw Carrot Cake Bliss Balls

img_4469
This recipe is one that should be labelled guilt free cake really.  Take the best of a healthy sounding cake and turn it into a raw, vegan option and you’d be forgiven for thinking it may be less than fabulous.  Never fear though, with my inspiration a recipe from Bianca at Wholefood Simply, we can’t go too far wrong. Her recipes are simple, healthy and tasty, in line with her philosophy of clean eating.  This particular recipe took my fancy because of my love of carrot cake and a massive tub of fresh dates sitting in my pantry that I’ve been neglecting.  Never one to take a recipe at face value I lent the flavor base from a carrot cake that I’ve blogged many years ago, adding spice and a touch of orange to the recipe.  Missing cashews, I substituted almonds and I doubt it made a massive difference to the flavor and perhaps added to the texture.

The end product is delicious and whilst its not cake, its a pretty good imitation that I’ll happily snack on as a substitute.

Making these has reminded me that I really need to spend more time exploring Bianca’s website to see what other gems I can experiment with to satiate my tastebuds.

Raw Carrot Cake Bliss Balls

inspired by wholefoodssimply.com

  • 3/4 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 raw almonds
  • 2 tsp orange zest
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 10 Medjool Dates
  • 1 cup desicated coconut
  • 1 carrot, peeled

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blitz until it forms a wet looking crumb.  Roll approximately a teaspoon worth  of mixture between the palms of your hands.  Roll in coconut if desired.  Keep refrigerated and eat within 3-5 days.  This recipe will make 24 balls.

Shared With Love,

Leah xx

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

