Donna Hay’s Seed and Date Slice

 I’m a massive fan of Donna Hay and have been since the days when she wrote for Marie Claire Living. She has a distinct style and her food is generally straight forward, clean flavours and recipes easy to execute.

As time has gone on from the early days her food has shifted to healthier stuff, reflecting her lifestyle changes, but also that of her audience. Her latest cookbook offering seems to have dived in to the clean living thing with both feet. It’s full of chia, quinoa, kale and other such stuff.  Whilst it could be quite easy to interpret this as jumping on the band wagon to cash in, what she does well is execute good solid recipes that work in my experience.

Her work is great for newer cooks and people who don’t want things overly complicated. I find her work inspiring even if I don’t follow the recipe. This week the photos of her latest book, Life In Balance has inspired 3 dishes for dinner without me actually cooking one of the recipes.

As for this particular slice, I loved the flavour and texture. It as fabulously nutty with just a hint of spice. The final slice was a little sticky though which made it difficult to cut cleanly resulting in a little bit of a mess. In hindsight that I didn’t chop my dates finely enough, nor press the mixture firmly enough. That’s me not quite following instructions to the letter.  So whilst this was a success first attempt I do think it’s worth another go because I loved the toasted nut flavour.

Seed and Date Slice

From Life In Balance by Donna Hay

  • 120g sunflower seeds
  • 120g roughly chopped almonds
  • 240g finely chopped fresh dates
  • 80g pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tbl sp honey
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Pre-heat your oven to 160c. Completely line a brownie tin with non-stick baking paper.

In a mixing bowl combine all your ingredients until they are well mixed and coated with the honey. Very firmly press the mixture into the tin. I recommend using the back of a metal spoon that you’ve heated under a hot tap.

Bake for approximately 45 minutes, or until toasty brown.

Allow to cool before slicing with a sharp knife. This will store well in an airtight container for a few days at room temperature.

Shared With Love,

Leah xx

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi Leah – I share your love of all things Donna Hay and my post this week is going to be a cheesecake tart inspired by her. I’ll have to give this a go too!

    Like

  2. I have the book and I really like it – I’ve cooked lots out of it but not this recipe. We’re doing a weekend hike next week I will make these and take them with us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      Hope you like it and have better luck getting it to stay together. Should be a great energy boost 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

