Crunchy Peanut Butter Biscuits

on


Sometimes it’s just time for a sweet treat.   The inspiration for this one had its origins in a jar of peanut butter. I picked up a jar of Pic’s peanut butter when I shopped last because I liked that it only contained peanuts and salt. I’m sad to say my favorite brand has more ingredients than it should do a healthier option is always a good thing.  The facts that it’s made in NZ with Aussie ingredients also made me feel good about my purchase. 

With the snazzy red lidded jar staring at me all week today I squeezed some baking into my schedule and headed for my bookshelf.   Tanya Holland came up trumps with her recipe in Brown Sugar Kitchen.  I played with the recipe a little to suit what I had in the pantry and the results is a slightly salty/sweet crunchy nut biscuit. What’s not to like about that? 

Crunchy Peanut Butter Biscuit

Adapted from Brown Sugar Kitchen by Tanya Holland

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/3 cup wholemeal flour
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tbl sp chopped roasted salted peanuts
  • 115g unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence 
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar

Preheat your oven to 180c. 

Cream your butter and sugars until light and fluffy, approx 5 minutes. 

Add the vanilla and egg and mix until fluffy. Then add the peanut butter and again mix until combined.

Now add the remaining ingredients except the raw sugar and mix until a dough forms. 

Roll walnut sized balls of dough and then roll in the raw sugar. Place approx 8cm apart on a baking sheet lined with non-stick baking paper.  Bake for about 15 minutes or until turning golden brown.

This mixture will make approximately 45 biscuits. 

Shared With Love,

Leah xx

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

