Coconut Flour Pancakes

I’ve had a bag of coconut flour hanging out in my pantry now for about 12 months, that I purchased on impulse one day.  I tried using it once and found it so absorbent that it ruined a recipe that the rest has been languishing until this week.

A visit from my niece who is allergic to wheat had me searching for a new gluten free pancake recipe and I happened upon this one.  I wouldn’t normally pay too much attention to goop.com but I liked the sound of the recipe and thought it was worth a go.  The good news is that they were not only delicious but also blog worthy!

I found the recipe quite easy to make, although the pancakes are slow to cook and very fragile, if you’re impatient, when you’re cooking them and try to flip them too early.  They are very coco nutty, so probably only for those who are coconut fans, but that meant they went fabulously with the favourite pancake topping of peanut butter.  They were equally as tasty for the rest of us with fresh strawberries, a banana and passionfruit salsa I made for the grown ups or even just a drizzle of maple syrup.  The lemon zest in them really helps to balance out the flavour, but we did find them quite rich so you’ll find you don’t need many to fill you up and keep you going for the day.  A great tropical inspired treat that is perfect for a warm day’s breakfast or lunch on the weekend.

coconut-flour-pancakes-3

Coconut Flour Pancakes with Banana and Passionfruit Salsa

inspired by goop.com

makes approx 12 mini pancakes

  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • pinch salt
  • 3 tbl sp coconut oil + 1tsp extra for cooking
  • 1 tbl sp honey
  • 3 large eggs at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

For the Banana and Passionfruit Salsa

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1  passionfruit
  • 3-4 fresh mint leaves
  • maple syrup or honey to taste

Cream the coconut oil and honey together.  Add the eggs one at a time and whisk to blend well. You want the coconut oil to blend into the mixture as much as possible but it is okay if there is a few small bits.

Add the lemon zest, vanilla, salt and almond milk, stirring to combine well.

Add in the flour and baking powder and stir until well mixed.  Set the mixture aside for a minute or two for the coconut flour to absorb the liquid whilst you make the salsa.

Cut your banana into cubes.  Combine in a bowl with the pulp of one passionfruit and a few mint leaves finely cut into ribbons.  Season with a small amount of honey or maple syrup if desired.  Set aside to serve with the pancakes.

Heat up a frying pan over a medium heat.  Grease the pan with a small amount of coconut oil.  Spoon the mixture onto the pan.  I used a dessert spoon for small bite sized pancakes.

Cook on one side until starting to bubble.  They won’t bubble as much as standard pancakes so check to make sure they don’t burn but don’t be too keen as they will fall apart fairly easily.  Once browned and starting to set, flip to brown on the other side.   At this stage they will be a lot more sturdy.

Serve warm.

Shared With Love,

Leah xx

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You reminded me with this post Leah of all the times I’ve made one of those impulse ingredient buys – only to see said item lurking in my pantry 12 months later! I used the last of my coconut flour blended with other flour types as a muffin base and I haven’t purchased it since!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      We all have those ingredients don’t we 🙂
      I do like when I find a good way to use them although I won’t rush out to buy more at this stage I don’t think

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

