Peanut Butter and Strawberry Muffins

peanutbutterandstrawberrymuffins1

Strawberries are in season at the moment in Brisbane and I’m finding myself buying them by the kilo I’m eating that many.  The price is right so I’m not holding back.  It does mean at times there is a few too many hanging around so I’m happy to throw a few into my baking if they don’t end up in a smoothie.  Baked into cake and muffins, they do tend to disappear a little in volume, but the remaining flavour enhances that delicious strawberri-ness so its well worth doing.

With a bit of a supply on hand this week I thought I would play in the kitchen and make these rather delicious muffins. Unfortunately its rare to find me experimenting with recipes at the moment. First Birthday parties, our impending Wedding, and taking care of a toddler are all consuming me.    I am managing to get a little more time now that Baby G is of the age where he is entertained by watching me in the kitchen, so quick things like muffins can actually get made. I just have to cater to the still very short attention span and bribe him with bites of food.  img_6690

This was inspired by the classic American flavour combination of Peanut Butter and Jelly (jam), but with my little healthy twist that is very well hidden and appeases my conscious.

Peanut Butter and Strawberry Muffins

makes 12 large muffins

  • 1 1/4 cup plain flour
  • 1 cup wholemeal flour
  • 1/2 cup crunchy or smooth peanut butter (unsweetened)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup finely grated carrot
  • 1 tbl sp honey
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup sunflower oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup chopped fresh strawberries

Pre-heat your oven to 180c.  Line a muffin tray with cup cake patty pan liners.

In a large bowl combine the flours, sugar, carrot and baking powder.

In a separate bowl combine all the liquids including the peanut butter and honey and beat until well combined. Pour the liquids into the dry ingredients and mix until forms a firm batter approximately the texture of ricotta cheese.  If the mixture is too runny add a little more flour.

Spoon the batter into the pre-prepared patty pans and bake for approx 25-30 minutes or until firm to touch and browning.

Allow to cool in the pan before removing and finishing off on wire rack.  Best served slightly warm.  These will freeze and are great zapped in the microwave for a few seconds to give that toasted peanut butter and jam flavour.

Shared With Love,

Leah xxx

img_6669

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

