Discovering Bill’s Everyday Asian

Have you ever had a cookbook on your shelf that you’ve ignored? You see it, but don’t really pay attention, and go back to the favorites that you know. Bill’s Everyday Asian by Bill Granger has been like that for me. Given as a gift years ago, I’ve browsed through it once maybe, and then it’s sat amongst my library not to be touched….until I finally joined Eat Your Books earlier this year.  A wonderful online catalogue for cookbooks, you upload your titles and when you search for an ingredient it will let you know which books contain recipes with that food.  I know I’m late to the party with this, but it’s something I’d highly recommend for any cookbook lover as its a fabulous way to discover your collection.

And so back to Bill. A Sydney foodie who is famous for his cafe and casual dining I’d not taken this book too seriously.  What I’ve discovered from the two dishes I’ve made so far is an approachable, adaptable and appealing collection of recipes. It’s not so much about authenticity to the individual cuisine as focus on flavour and being able to create the food in your kitchen.  A very Australian approach to Asian food which tends to the light and plucking bits from different cultures to create our own version of things.

I posted BBQ Pork with Vietnamese Caramel Sauce a while back and loved it so much that thought I would set myself a challenge for the new year.  The birthplace of The Cookbook Guru (currently in hiatus) I did this back in 2012 when I cooked my way through 30 recipes from Donna Hay’s Fresh and Light.  It was a great way to really dig into the book and establish what works and what doesn’t.

Whilst I won’t promise 30 recipes, I look forward to sharing with you a good selection of great ideas, full of flavour and fun to make.

The first recipe I’m eying off is Chicken and Cashew Curry.

Shared With Love,

Leah xx

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Francesca says:

    Looking forward to that Leah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glenda says:

    I love Eat Your Books particularly love reading the comment section on recipes tried. Although I don’t have this particular Bill Granger book looking forward to reading about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      It’s opened up a whole new world for me Glenda and it’s thanks to you and mum writing about it so much I took the leap and finally joined. Worth every cent 🙂

      Like

  3. Thanks for the reminder Leah, something I have intended to join for years and have never got around to. And I look forward to hearing reading your posts on the recipes. I miss the cookbook club. This is my retirement year and I will have mich more time for blogging.

    Like

  4. Wow Leah I have quiet a few of those neglected books so ‘Eat Your Books’ sounds fantastic for me – I’m going to check it out today!

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

