Discovering The Life Changing Loaf of Bread

9

I’m always open to new idea’s when it comes to cooking, and frequently seek inspiration from the people around me, as much as I do from recipe books.   This little gem comes courtesy of an old work colleague and friend of mine, Emily.   Seeing her version of this beautiful seedy bread on Facebook inspired me to try the recipe to see if it lived up to the name given to it. (See here for the original source of this recipe by Sarah Britton.)

Reading the article I was instantly intrigued,  the photo’s looked amazing, and the list of ingredients reads like a must eat from a natropath or nutritionist.   Plus the method is actually very easy to follow.  This is not a difficult bread to make that requires patience.  No flour, no yeast, no dairy, no refined sugar.   Sounding good for you yet?

Like Sarah, I’m happy to go on the record as admitting that I eat too much bread.  I LOVE it!  I’m not a fan of the commercial pre-sliced loaves that you buy in the supermarket, nor the mass-produced fluffy, doughy bread that abounds at most bakeries.  Give me a dense sourdough, a solid rye or even some of the delicious Irish soda bread I discovered in Ireland a few years ago.  Combine this addict like craving with the things I love on bread, namely butter and cheese, and you know I’m in trouble.  Thing is, when I try to be good, to reduce my bread eating, it doesn’t take long for me to start to miss my Vegemite, my eggs on toast, my peanut butter (this list could go on), and there I find myself buying a nice dense sourdough, or a nutty flavourful mixed grain bread again.

This loaf is new to me, but I think I have to say I’m pretty happy with the results and can see why people are raving about it..  The best comparison would be to say it has the density of pumpernickel, and it’s quite similar in its nutty flavour.  I was quite surprised by how filling it is, two pieces was more than enough for me for breakfast.  I loved the flavour and texture of the bread and can picture it not only being yummy for breakfast, but great on a nibbles platter with dips and cheese.

6

The Life Changing Loaf of Bread

makes 1 loaf

  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup almonds or hazelnuts
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 tbl sp chia seeds (I used black, but you could use either colours)
  • 4 tbl sp psyllium husk
  • 1 tsp fine sea salt
  • 1 tbl sp maple syrup
  • 3 tbl sp ghee or melted coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 cups water

In a bowl combine all dry ingredients mixing well.   Combine your liquids in a jug and then add to the dry mixture.  Combine well adding a little bit more water if it’s too stiff to mix properly.  The dough will get very thick.

3

Press into a lined loaf tin and smooth out the surface.  Allow the mixture to sit for at least 2 hours.

1

You should be able to life the loaf and have it stay in one piece before you place it into the oven.

7

Place the loaf in a preheated oven at 180c.

Bake for approx 20 mins and then remove from the baking tin and return to the oven upside down directly onto the rack.  Bake for another 30-40 mins.  The loaf it done when it sounds hollow when tapped.

IMG_6811

Allow to cool completely before slicing.   This bread will store well in a sealed container or can be frozen.

2

Happy, Healthy Baking and Eating,

Leah

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Sandra says:

    OMG, that looks amazing! Hope it’s on next weeks menu! Xx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      definitely will be….its my bread of choice at the moment.

      Like

  2. Denise Stevens says:

    Oh Yum !! Cant wait to try this it looks great Leah ❤ Thank you x x

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you. would love to hear what you think of it.

      Like

  3. ohlidia says:

    Just beautiful!

    Like

  4. Amy Nichols says:

    I found this last year on your friends web site! At first I wasn’t so sure about it but it became addicting! I need to make it again!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh its so good Amy, you really should retry it. I had a break for a while and made it again this week for the first time in about 4 months and its just as good as I remember. I sometimes add some sesame seeds and you can make it without any sweetner,or try honey instead of maple syrup.

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....