Fig and Walnut Soda Bread

7

Bread is possibly one of my all time favourite foods.  For a foodie like me that is saying something, but it’s a food that I find difficult to stay away from and have an endless curiosity about texture, flavour and density.   So far I’ve been far more of a consumer than a creator with time is probably the biggest constraint for me, so when I finally tried out an Irish soda bread recipe I all but wanted to break out in a jig!  Finally bread that was simple to put together (I already know the recipe off by heart after only half a dozen loaves), required very little of my time, and was big on flavour and texture.

Not satisfied with just creating a simple wholewheat loaf that I started with I’ve gone on to experiment with different flavours and ingredients to create some delicious breakfast and anytime of the day loaves that I thought was worth sharing.  If you’ve ever thought you might like to make your own bread then Irish Soda Bread is the recipe to start with!

This week I thought I would mix around with the idea of a fruit and nut version and decided on Dried Fig and Walnuts.  I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves but honestly, it’s been my favourite version so far and its only spurring on the experimentation.

Fig and Walnut Soda Bread

  • 375g wholemeal flour or spelt
  • 125g plain flour or spelt
  • 30g wheatmeal (optional)
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup liquid treacle
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup (about 6) dried figs, cubed
  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped walnuts
  • 400ml buttermilk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Pre-Heat your oven to 180c approx.

Combine your dry ingredients in a bowl.  Add the treacle and buttermilk and stir until a dough forms.  Dust your bench top with some plain flour and then pour the mixture out onto your bench.  Knead until combined and then shape into either a round or rectangle shape depending on your preference.  Place onto a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper and cut some slices into the top of the loaf with a sharp knife.

Place into the oven and bake for about 30-40 minutes or until golden brown and making a hollow sound when you tap the bottom.  Cool on a wire rack and eat fresh or toasted with butter or some cream cheese.  This loaf will keep for about 3 days in a cool dark environment.   It can be frozen but when it’s so easy to make I’d go for fresh every time.

Makes 1 loaf.

Happy Baking and Happy Eating,

Leah

8 Comments Add yours

  1. ladyredspecs says:

    The sourdough WIP is creating so much bread I’ve had no space for soda bread, but I’m really keen to try this out, it’s on the list! Xxx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Lol…maybe we could do a swap a loaf 🙂 xxxx

      Like

  2. I also LOVE bread. Fig and walnuts are so wonderful, especially on Greek yogurt with honey. I will make this and slather lots of creamy butter on top of my slice. YUM!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      You’ve made me think that the bread might be nice topped with some Greek yoghurt & honey. Hope you enjoy the recipe 🙂

      Like

  3. Cteavin says:

    I haven’t made soda bread in ages. Thanks for the reminder, and the twist. I’ve never seen a whole wheat version.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh it’s delicious and the fig & walnut are a great addition to a traditional recipe 🙂

      Like

  4. bitsofnice says:

    Delicious combination, I’ve had walnut and fig bread in france a few times and it is truly delicious. Must try at home!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      It is a bit of a classic and great with the wholewheat bread :-)?

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....