BBQ Series: Potato Salad

Potato Salad

You didn’t think I’d forget the humble potato salad did you?   I’m pretty sure this is most people’s favourite at a BBQ, and there is so many ways to make this simple salad taste amazing, it could almost be a meal on its own! You could be a fan or adding seeded mustard, bacon bits, cheese, boiled eggs, or even been shoots, any way you look at it, potato salad is pretty delicious. I’ve gone for a mayonnaise free option this time around, although I will admit to being a fan of the classic: Potato, Egg, Spring Onion & Mayonnaise.

Potato Salad

Potato Salad

  • 2 tbl sp. Dijon mustard
  • 2 spring onions (scallions) finely sliced
  • approx 8 – 10 medium sized potatoes peeled and chopped into bite sized pieces
  • 1 tbl sp. olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

Prepare your potatoes.  Place them in a large saucepan and cover generously with cold water.  Bring to the boil and then cook until you can stick a fork through one of the pieces and it gives gently.

6

Drain the potatoes and allow to cool slightly, but not get completely cold.  Place in a large bowl and add the spring onions, olive oil, spring onions and seasoning, combine well and serve.  You can let this salad rest once it is dressed and serve completely cold, but I find dressing it whilst the potatoes are  warm helps with the flavour being absorbed into the potato and ultimately leads to better flavours.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

5 Comments Add yours

  1. ohlidia says:

    Oh! I could so eat this on its own… looks heavenly! Did I ever mention my LOVE of potatoes?

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      You sound like my other half… pretty sure he’d live on them if he could. I love experiementing with different ways of cooking them, but I think I need to photograph and blog a few of them 🙂

      Like

  2. Janet Rörschåch says:

    I just adore a good potato salad. What a guilty pleasure for me. I could sit, with a bowl snug between my knees, and just eat spoonfuls until the bowl is clean. I am off white potatoes for awhile, but your post allowed me to dream. Thank you!

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....