Clean Green Smoothies

I promise that this blog is not about to turn into a health food detox site, although some of the recipes below may make you think otherwise.    I’m skipping the morning ritual of toast at the moment, but I doubt it will be forever.  Anyone that knows me is aware that I love food way too much to completely deny myself all the foods that I share with you all here on this site, but perhaps this detox is my very own food challenge to get myself making healthier choices and be smarter about what I create for everyday living.   These smoothies in particular are designed to flush away the nasties and have become a welcome part of my morning ritual of late.  I’m actually enjoying the change of pace and finding myself much more full of energy after one of these.

I started out with the recipes that were shared with me as a part of the book I’m basing this detox on.   I liked the clear explanations of how my body works and the realistic way that the detox works which is why I’ve chosen this particular one.  I know there is a million and one ways to do this out there, so make sure you choose the option that is right for you.  If you’re keen to read more about what I’m doing then check out Dr Alejandro Junger’s website or buy the book.

I thought I’d share some of my smoothie recipes because when I started looking for idea’s online there wasn’t as many recipes as I expected.  Now I know that a smoothie is really about throwing in what ever you feel like, but at the moment because I’m specifically following a clean eating detox so I wanted to make sure that I’m getting the right nutrients to help my body do its thing.   In spite of the sound of the some of the ingredients they are not as nasty sounding as you might otherwise expect (although if you ask the other half in this household he would vehemently disagree).   The spinach is actually pretty flavorless when it is pureed, it’s just more likely to change the colour of your drink to one that will inspire to you be healthy or have you questioning your decisions.

Vanilla Almond Shake

Vanilla & Almond

  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 1 tbl sp vanilla extract
  • 1 heaped tbl sp. almond butter
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp spirulina powder

Place all your ingredients into a blender and puree until smooth.  Drink immediately.  An optional extra is to add stevia to taste if you like your drinks sweeter.

Creamy Blueberry Shake

Creamy Blueberry

  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1/4 cup almond butter
  • 1 tbl sp chia seeds
  • 2 loosely packed cups of spinach
  • dash of coconut milk
  • 1 tsp spirulina powder

Place all ingredients into a blender and puree until smooth. Drink immediately.

Blueberry Choc Smoothie

Blueberry Choc Nut

  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 300ml coconut water
  • 1/4 almond meal
  • 1 tbl sp flaxseed meal
  • 1 tbl sp cacao powder
  • 1 tsp spirulina

Place all ingredients into a blender and puree until smooth. Drink immediately.

All the recipes shown have come from or been inspired by Clean by Dr Alejandro Junger

Happy Detoxing

Leah

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....