Banana and Peanut Butter Smoothies

Banana and Peanut Butter Smoothie

Smoothies are the flavour of the moment for me at the moment.  I was longing for a change of breakfast and then along came my cook book challenge and an impending detox on the horizon.  The detox is a whole other story that I won’t go into in this particular post, but suffice it to say that liquid breakfasts are going to be a big part of my future for a while.  With recipes like this though I’m quite happy to go along with my fate as I’m finding to be a refreshing and energising way to start the day.

I don’t know that I’d go having this particular flavour combination every day of the week, its pretty heavy going, but for all of the northern hemisphere followers I think this is an ideal autumn/winter option whilst I’m opting for the fruitier versions as the weather warms up here in Australia.   Stay tuned for a few more of these easy and quick breakfast blends over the coming few weeks.

Banana and Peanut Butter Smoothie

Banana and Peanut Butter Smoothie

  • 1 small banana
  • 1 cup of milk – go for cow/soy/rice or oat milk
  • 1 tbl sp. crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 tbl sp oat bran or flax meal (optional)
  • 6 ice cubes

Place all the ingredients into a blender and blitz until smooth and creamy.  Drink straight away.

Banana and Peanut Butter Smoothie

ps.  Don’t skip the ice.  I did, but you really do need it to get your smoothie liquid enough to drink.  If you’re using a stick mixer like me, then I would suggest adding a bit more milk.

Happy Breakfast,

Leah

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Looks like just the ticket to get me going in the moment. Thank you for the share.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      I hope you enjoy it. Its a nice change of pace for breakfast 🙂

      Like

  2. health advocation says:

    my favorite combination!! check out my blog for others, smoothies are the best

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thanks for stopping by, I’m always looking for new ideas so I’ll definitely have a look

      Like

  3. Joy says:

    Looks like a great breakfast option!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      It was nice for a treat for sure 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....