Broccoli & Bacon pasta

Broccoli & Bacon Spaghetti

Lately I’ve been feeling the need to eat more vegetables.  For some reason when this happens my go to seems to be broccoli.

I have memories of travelling in Hawaii in 2006 and being desperate for a plate of  veg after so many days of hamburgers and chips,  so much so that I ordered the only thing on the menu that came even close, pasta with green veggies, and to my delight and surprise, the Hard Rock cafe served up what must have been a full head of broccoli.  I proceeded to eat the lot,  completely ignoring the rest of the dish.  There is something about this flower like vegetable that ticks the boxes and makes me feel like I”m being healthy when I’m eating it.

This dish is packed full of broccoli, but also has the smoky salty goodness of the bacon and a yummy bit of chilli to round out the flavour.

I do tend to make variations of this depending on what happens to be in my fridge at the time, but this version worked well so I thought I would share.

** this recipe is also awesome as a vegetarian dish if you take out the bacon.

Broccoli & Bacon Spaghetti

  • 8og grated smoked cheese
  • 1/2 finely sliced red onion
  • 1 clove garlic finely cut
  • 200g sliced bacon
  • 2 chilli’s finely sliced (add more or less depending on your heat preference)
  • 2 tbl sp  olive oil
  • 1 med head broccoli
  • 2 tbl sp pine nuts
  • cracked pepper
  • 4 serves of spaghetti

Cut your broccoli into bit sized pieces.  Bring a large pot of water to the boil and add a pinch of salt.  To this add your pasta.  I used spaghetti, but I think any long stranded pasta like angel hair pasta or fettucine would work just as well.

Heat a pan and fry off your bacon until it starts to brown, at this point add your onion, pine nuts,  chilli and garlic.

2 mins before your pasta is due to be drained, add your broccoli.   Once cooked, your broccoli should be a light green in colour, drain and then add the pasta and broccoli back into your pan with the bacon.   Stir until the pasta is well mixed with the other ingredients.

To serve, sprinkle smoked cheese and serve with cracked pepper to season.

broccoli pasta

Happy Cooking, Leah

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

