Spanish Inspired Spiced Almonds

Spanish Spiced Almonds
Spanish Spiced Almonds

Nuts are one of our favourite snacks.  We will often pop a bowl out on the coffee table to nibble on with our beer or a glass of wine to celebrate the end of the day.  Our recent addiction has been more specifically smoked almonds.  A friend introduced me to them a few years ago and ever since they have been something I have to be very careful not to over indulge in.  I keep them in the fridge on random occasions  and find the cold fresh nut with its smoky and salty coating are a wonderful flavour and texture combination.

When I saw the recipe for these Spanish flavoured almonds in Karen Martini’s Cooking At Home I was intrigued and wrote down the recipe in anticipation of giving them a try.  Like a lot of recipes its sat in my notebook waiting for a time when I have all the ingredients together and the time and energy to put it all together during daylight hours to be able to share with you all.

Fast forward to 3 months later and The Cook Book Guru is giving me the push I need to finally make this happen.  It’s one of the things that I love about being a part of this cooking book club, it makes me try out recipes that I’ve been sitting on for way too long.  If you feel the same way about your cooking and your cook books then make sure you check out The Cookbook Guru and join in the fun.

In the meanwhile do yourself a favour and give these spiced almonds a go…. they were scrumptious and perfect with our evening beverages.

My only comment on these babies would be to say I think next time I make these I’ll halve the salt as I found these incredibly salty (and that’s saying something for the salt lover that I am) but other than that I loved the smoky garlicy flavour combination and just how simple these were to create.  My mind is percolating ideas of other spiced nuts I can create in my kitchen.

8

Spanish Inspired Spiced Almonds

from Cooking At Home by Karen Martini

  • 40g unsalted butter
  • 3 Tbl. sp extra virgin olive oil
  • 400g large blanched almonds
  • 3 large cloves garlic, bruised
  • 4 tbl sp. sea salt flakes
  • 1 tbl sp coriander seeds
  • 2 tsp castor sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp dried chilli flakes
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp sweet paprika
  • 2 pinches cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 egg  white lightly whisked

Pre-heat oven to 170c and line a baking tray with non-stick baking paper.

Melt the butter and olive oil in a large pan over a medium heat. Add the almonds and garlic and stir continuously for 4 or 5 minutes or until golden brown. Drain the almonds on paper towel and discard the garlic.  Place the almonds into a large bowl.

654

In a mortar and pestle or spice grinder place the salt and coriander seeds and grind to a powder.   Add the sugar and remaining spices and mix well then add the mix, along with the egg white to the almonds and combine well.  Spread the mixture out on the baking sheet and bake for about 5 minutes.

2

Allow to cool completely and then serve.

Will keep in an airtight container for up to a week (if you can make them last that long).

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating,

Leah

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Leah says:

    Reblogged this on The Cookbook Guru and commented:

    A delicious snack to add to this month’s Cookbook Guru in the form of Spanish Inspired Spiced Nuts… an absolute winner in our house and the seed of many versions to come I suspect. Make sure you check them out.

    Happy Weekend, Leah

    Like

  2. alwaysamum says:

    Reblogged this on Favourite Gluten Free Recipes and commented:
    A taste of Spain…

    Like

  3. This looks like a great snack. We love nuts, too – and anything Spanish inspired. 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thanks Shanna, I think the possibilities of variations are endless….I’m dreaming of vanilla & cinnamon almonds at the moment 🙂

      Like

  4. chef mimi says:

    These look divine! Salty or not!

    Like

  5. ladyredspecs says:

    These sound delicious Leah, but yes, lots of salt. I guess you’d just have to drink more beer. Would you halve the salt, or make it less again? Xx

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      true on the beer… I’m thinking half next time to see or maybe only 1/3…Got a few idea’s for different spices I’d like to try too. 🙂

      Like

  6. trixpin says:

    What a great recipe! I’ve never thought of toasting nuts in butter and oil like that, I’ve only ever roasted them. And all those spices must have been a lovely addition.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you… I think the cooking in the butter with the oil helped to infuse the garlic flavour into the nuts before roasting them with the spices…. probably not very healthy but they tasted awesome! 🙂

      Like

  7. Those things look damn fine. They are officially on my “to do” list for this week!

    Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

