Hob Nobs

on

IMG_5847

How have I not made Hob Nobs sooner?  It’s quite astounding when I can confess to having a borderline obsession with chocolate hob nob biscuits.  I’m pretty sure I love the texture & flavour equally and if they’re in the house they are unlikely to last more than a day.

Needless to say, they are an occasional treat and one that I’ve been meaning to try my hand at making at home.  Imagine my surprise when I googled a recipe and discovered they are basically Anzac biscuits without the coconut!  Even the method is basically the same.  Is this another case of Aussie adoption, like Russell Crowe, Pavlova and Phar Lap?  Who knows, all I can say is they are as good as the store bought version.

This recipe is super simple to make, no mixer required.  I’d recommend them as something to make with children as they are tasty and fun without any complicated tricks to employ.  They take only minutes to mix and bake which means they’re unlikely to get bored either.

I sourced this recipe from Allrecipes.com.

Hob Nob Biscuits

  • 150g self raising flour
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 120g rolled oats
  • 1 tsp bicarb
  • 150g unsalted butter
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 tbl sp golden syrup

Pre-heat your oven to 180c and line a baking tray with non-stick baking paper.

In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients.

Melt the butter either in the microwave or a saucepan and add the golden syrup.  Pour into the dry ingredients and mix until combined.

Roll approximately 1 tsp of dough into a ball and place on the baking tray, allowing room for the biscuits to spread.  Bake for about 10 minutes or until they begin to turn golden.  Allow to cool on the tray before moving to a cooling rack. They will deflate as they cool, and be aware moving them too early will mean they fall apart.

Drizzle melted dark chocolate on the cooled biscuits if you so desire.

This should make approximately 24 – 30 biscuits.

Shared With Love,

Leah xx

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I do love a good hob nob. But, I would have put it the other way around: Anzac biscuits are actually hob nobs with added coconut. Thanks for the recipe. They are difficult to find here and it is always good to make your own.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      And you’d be right Debi, it’s just that I knew Anzac biscuits first 🙂 delicious either way which is the good news

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting Leah – I didn’t realise that Hob Nobs are simply Anzac biscuits without the coconut – and yours look very deliciously crunchy 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leah says:

      Thanks Laura

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....