Honey Roasted Baby Carrots

3

I love to cook for other people.  It’s one of the greatest motivators for me to get into the kitchen.  Seeing people’s faces with delight and pleasure when they are smelling and eating the food that I’ve created gives me a great sense of satisfaction and pride of a job well done.  And I think it amplifies my enjoyment of the food too!

Recently I had some friends over for dinner, and knowing that I had a few “plain” palates meant that I had to keep things relatively simple.  I didn’t let this stop me though from using my creative ideas in the kitchen.  We had a beautiful piece of lamb shoulder de-boned and butterflied, marinated in plenty of garlic, olive oil and fresh thyme from the garden, and barbecued to perfection.  To couple this main event I brought out the popular hasselback potatoes, the delicious bean and snowpea salad from Ottolenghi and tried my hand at these simply scrumptious baked carrots.

It was a feast fit for the wonderful wine and company that accompanied the night and food that will definitely be gracing my menu again.

This way of preparing carrots was inspired by a picture I saw in one of my Donna Hay recipe books and its so simple and easy to make you really don’t need a recipe to follow it.

Honey Roasted Carrots

Honey Roasted Baby Carrots

  • 1 bunch baby carrots, heads removed and peeled
  • juice 1 lemon
  • 2 tbl sp olive oil
  • approx 1-2 tbl sp. honey
  • sea salt and cracked black pepper
  • fresh lemon or plain thyme (about 6 strands)

Peel and clean your carrots.  Place them onto a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper.  Drizzle the honey, olive oil and lemon juice over the carrots and then season.  Toss lightly to coat the carrots and then place the thyme amongst the carrots.  Bake in a 180c oven for approx 30 minutes or until the carrots are browning slightly at the edges.  I garnished mine with a touch of orange zest, but it wasn’t essential.

Happy Cooking & Happy Eating

Leah

9 Comments Add yours

  1. lucylox says:

    Wow, those carrots look and sound divine 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, they were delicious and so easy to make

      Like

  2. lonaj68 says:

    They look great. Bet they went down a treat.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you, they were pretty awe swim and very quickly consumed. No leftovers to speak of 🙂

      Like

  3. ohlidia says:

    I’ve had these before and they really were fantastic. Great photos Leah!

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank so much. They’re very tasty aren’t they 🙂

      Like

  4. My oh my Leah! Your dinner sounds amazing. Wish I had friends like you who invited me over for such a feast! I need more foodie friends! 🙂 Just kidding…well, it does seem like I’m the one who does all the cooking in my circle of friends and like you I really enjoy it too. Your menu sounds divine and I love these carrots.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Oh thank you so much, it is a wonderful thing to share food isn’t it. I often wish I had more friends in Brisbane to share meals like this with me, unfortunately its more often than not when I have interstate visitors that we create a feast together. Mind you that doesn’t stop me creating yummy food for me and my other half 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....

