Quinoa Pea Fritters with Zucchini

Quinoa Pea Fritters with Zucchini

This recipe intrigued me, and then when I was cooking it I was slightly worried about the flavours.  I was concerned it would be a bit bland and tasteless.  Most of all I’ve never eaten raw zucchini that I can think of and wasn’t sure that I wanted to start now.  I’m happy to say that the worry was all for naught  This is beautifully light, nutty and fresh recipe.  The mint and lemon are a lovely flavour combination with the fresh pea’s and it all works very well with the quinoa.   The fritters were filling enough to be an evening meal on a warm spring night, but would be equally as good for lunch.  The zucchini salad was fresh and the raw zucchini was crunchy and a great texture base, whilst the pea and mint flavours were the dominant feature.   We didn’t love this recipe, but we were both satisfied with our meal and dare I say it, probably prepared to give it another go if the opportunity presented itself.

Another good vegetarian recipe to add to the list from Donna Hay.

Quinoa Pea Fritters with Zucchini

Quinoa Pea Fritters with Zucchini

  • 2 cups cooked peas
  • 2 cups cooked white quinoa
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 tbl sp. rice flour
  • 2 tbl sp vegetable oil
  • salt and cracked black pepper
  • 2 tsp vegetable oil for cooking

Zucchini Salad

  • 2 zucchini shredded using a vegetable peeler or sliced finely with a knife
  • 1 tbl sp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup mint leaves
  • lemon cheeks to serve

Roughly mash half the peas and place in a bowl with the quinoa, egg white, rice flour, oil, salt and pepper and mix well to combine.

Quinoa Pea Fritters with Zucchini

Shape 1/2 cupfuls of the mixture into thin patties.  Heat the extra oil in a large non-stick frying pan over a medium heat and cook, in batches, for about 3-4 minutes until the patties are golden brown on each side.  Dry on absorbent towel and serve with the zucchini salad.

Quinoa Pea Fritters with Zucchini

To make the salad, prepare the zucchini and mix all the ingredients in a bowl together.

This recipe recommends serving it with labna, but I think it would be equally good with some persian feta or try some poached chicken like we did and turn the whole dish into a meal.

Happy Cooking and Happy Eating,

Leah

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely Leah! Will definitely be bookmarking this recipe 🙂

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Thank you! let me know you go with them, would love to hear what you think.

      Like

  2. ohlidia says:

    How gorgeous are those? I just had to pin that photo! I’m making these tonight… I seem to have everything I need. And I love raw zucchini!

    Like

    1. ohlidia says:

      I made these over the weekend Leah and they were scrumptious! Not as pretty as yours, mind you. But just as yummy, I’m sure.

      Like

      1. Leah says:

        oh yay, I’m glad they were good and you liked them. In my opinion food is all about the flavours and smells, the visual bit is just an added bonus 🙂

        Like

  3. Ange says:

    I made them and they fell apart while cooking, so I added another egg white, still fell apart, so I added a third whole egg and only then did they mostly stay together. I’ll be halving the mixture and using extra eggs next time.

    Like

    1. Leah says:

      Hi Ange, good to know, thanks for the feedback. From memory I didn’t have the same problem but if know each persons hand is slightly different with ingredients so I may have been more generous with some of my quantities when I made them. I hope you enjoyed the flavour all the same 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts, we love to hear them....